skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1873::02 in date [X]
45 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To Nature   [before 13 February 1873]


Sends a letter from William Huggins about a case of inherited fright in three generations of mastiffs. Discusses the different origins of instincts and their inheritance.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  [before 13 Feb 1873]
Classmark:  Nature, 13 February 1873, pp. 281–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8765

To E. H. Giglioli   6 February [1873]


Thanks his Italian colleague for articles on the skull of a chimpanzee.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Enrico Hillyer Giglioli
Date:  6 Feb [1873]
Classmark:  Andrusier Autographs (dealer) (22 November 2013)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8201A

To John Chapman   1 February 1873


Thanks for Chapman 1873 (Chapman, John. 1873. Neuralgia and kindred diseases of the nervous system).

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Chapman
Date:  1 Feb 1873
Classmark:  Western University Archives, History of Medicine Collection, Western University, London, Ontario, Canada (A04-011-051)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8751F

To ?[a New Orleans newspaper]   [c. February 1873]


CD responds to a poem, "Comus", and a New Orleans Mardi Gras editorial; he cannot tell from the "wonderful mistakes" whether the writer is "witty, ignorant, or blunders for the sake of fun".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  New Orleans newspaper
Date:  [c. Feb 1873]
Classmark:  Benfey (1997):179
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8753F

To J. V. Carus   1 February 1873


Has no corrections for second German edition [of Expression]. Plans to bring out an improved edition in a year or two.

Thanks for reference JVC sent.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  1 Feb 1873
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 102–103)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8754

From W. M. Canby   1 February 1873



At Asa Gray’s request, responds to CD’s questions about WMC’s observations on Dionaea and particularly about the size of the insects captured and the excitability of the leaves after an insect is captured.

Author:  William Marriott Canby
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Feb 1873
Classmark:  DAR 58.1: 25
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8755

From J. T. Moggridge   1 February 1873


He does not accept Wallace’s definition of instinct because it excludes "inherited experience", i.e., "knowledge acquired by and transmitted through ancestors".

House-flies do not seem to have an instinctive fear of trap-door spiders.

Miss Forster gives him news of CD.

Author:  John Traherne Moggridge
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Feb 1873
Classmark:  DAR 171: 217
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8756

To F. S. B. François de Chaumont   3 February [1873]


Thanks for J. D. MacDonald’s paper ["Distribution of invertebrata", Proc. R. Soc. Lond. 21 (1872–3): 218–23].

CD feels lines of genetic connection between animals offer a most difficult problem; Ernst Haeckel may have done mischief by facing the difficulty.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Stephen Bennet François de Chaumont
Date:  3 Feb [1873]
Classmark:  Wellcome Collection (RAMC/474/2); Trustees of the Army Medical Services Museum
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8757

To W. B. Dawkins   3 February 1873


A letter of recommendation for W. B. Dawkins in his application for the Woodwardian professorship of geology in the university of Cambridge.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Boyd Dawkins
Date:  3 Feb 1873
Classmark:  Cambridge University Archives (GEOL 9/*1 2b)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8757F

To J. E. Gray   4 February [1873]


Is glad JEG has made out what the guemul is ["On the Guémul", Ann. & Mag. Nat. Hist. 4th ser. 10 (1872): 445–6; 11 (1873): 214–20, 308–10].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Edward Gray
Date:  4 Feb [1873]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.411)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8758

From C. I. F. Major   6 February 1873


Cannot find a publisher for Italian translation of Expression. Gives up the project.

Author:  Charles Immanuel Forsyth Major
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Feb 1873
Classmark:  DAR 171: 30
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8759

From F. B. Goodacre   7 February 1873


Would like a museum set up illustrating origins, varieties, and uses of domestic animals; seeks CD’s approval of the idea.

Author:  Francis Burges Goodacre
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Feb 1873
Classmark:  DAR 165: 62
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8760

From T. H. Huxley   [8 February 1873]


Forwards Matthew Arnold’s Literature and dogma [1873].

Hopes they can secure Hooker for President of Royal Society.

Author:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [8 Feb 1873]
Classmark:  DAR 166: 328
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8761

To Matthew Arnold   9 February [1873]


Thanks MA for his Literature and dogma [1873].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Matthew Arnold
Date:  9 Feb [1873]
Classmark:  DAR 221.5: 1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8762

From John Murray   10 February [1873]


Encloses cheque for 1000 guineas, CD’s share of profits on first 7000 copies of Expression.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Feb [1873]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 435
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8763

To F. B. Goodacre   11 February [1873]


Thinks FBG’s idea of a room at the British Museum of domestic birds and animals an excellent one, but a collection of plants would be much more difficult.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Burges Goodacre
Date:  11 Feb [1873]
Classmark:  John Goodacre (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8763F

To C. I. F. Major   11 February 1873


Is sorry that CIFM has had to give up translating Expression into Italian.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Immanuel Forsyth Major
Date:  11 Feb 1873
Classmark:  Kotte Autographs (30 October 2008)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8763G

From Mariabella Fry   15 February 1873


Remarks on the "grief-muscles" shown in a Dürer picture.

Author:  Mariabella Fry
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Feb 1873
Classmark:  DAR 164: 220
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8767

To Gerard Krefft   17 February 1873


Is glad JLGK has been interested in Descent.

Thanks him for his observations on monkey behaviour [see 8698]

and drawings of skulls, which CD has sent to George Busk.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Louis Gerard (Gerard) Krefft
Date:  17 Feb 1873
Classmark:  Mitchell Library, Sydney (MLMSS 5828)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8768

To J. D. Hooker   17 February 1873


Is drawing up the account of his crossing experiments. Requests JDH to add the families after nine genera, the names of which he encloses. Whenever there is no objection he would like to arrange the families in some sort of natural order.

Recommends Spalding’s article on instinct in Macmillan’s Magazine [27 (1873): 265–81].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  17 Feb 1873
Classmark:  DAR 94: 257–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8769
Page: 1 2 3  Next