skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1869 in date [X]
514 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From T. H. Farrer   27 October 1869

Summary

Observations on Passiflora.

Hildebrand on geraniums.

Author:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 Oct 1869
Classmark:  DAR 164: 59
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6958

To J. V. Carus   [30 October 1869]

Summary

Has received a letter from Carl Vogt, expressing his readiness to translate Descent at the request of the publisher Franz Anton Ricker

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  [30 Oct 1869]
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 45)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6958F

To Carl Vogt   30 October 1869

Summary

Thanks for proposal about translation [of Descent]. Will write to J. V. Carus to make agreement with publisher.

Hopes JVC’s holding CD’s views only secondary cause of loss of professorship.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Carl Vogt
Date:  30 Oct 1869
Classmark:  Bibliothèque de Genève (Ms. fr. 2188, ff. 298–9)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6959

To J. V. Carus   30 October 1869

Summary

Carl Vogt has written that JVC is no longer a professor at Leipzig. Since this circumstance would provide more time to JVC for translation, Vogt withdraws his offer to translate [Descent]. CD asks JVC to accept the right to translate and to negotiate for best terms with whatever publisher he chooses.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  30 Oct 1869
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 46–47)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6960

From G. H. Darwin   [18 October 1869]

Summary

Asks for some money for his fees.

Author:  George Howard Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [18 Oct 1869]
Classmark:  DAR 210.2: 10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6963

From Federico Delpino   1 November 1869

Summary

Comments on Hermann Crüger’s paper, sent by CD, on fertilisation of orchids [J. Linn. Soc. Lond. (Bot.) 8 (1865): 127–35].

Observations on dichogamy in grasses (wheat, rye, barley).

Has not yet read CD’s reply to his article on Pangenesis [Collected papers 2: 158–60].

Author:  Federico Delpino
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Nov 1869
Classmark:  DAR 162: 145
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6965

From Charles Lyell   2 November 1869

Summary

Comments on Huxley’s address ["Geological reform", Q. J. Geol. Soc. Lond. 25 (1869): xxxviii–liii].

Physicists have ignored variation in sea-level in calculating effects.

Doubts if sun only source of heat.

Notes average depth of sea is 15 times height of land.

Criticises CD’s concept of permanent continents.

Sedimentary strata of Alleghenies must have derived from continent located where Atlantic is. Thinks enormous amount of denudation, submergence, and elevation may have accompanied relatively insignificant organic changes.

Author:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Nov 1869
Classmark:  Edinburgh University Library, Centre for Research Collections (Gen.113.ff.3734–3737)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6967

To Eduard Koch   4 November 1869

Summary

Thanks EK for Julius Dub’s work [see 6961].

Has sent the new [5th] edition of Origin to Carus.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Eduard Koch
Date:  4 Nov 1869
Classmark:  Württembergische Landesbibliothek, Stuttgart (Cod. hist. 4o 333a. No 77, 4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6969

From George Cupples   [4–10 November 1869]

thumbnail

Summary

Weight statistics on deerhound puppies born 23 Sept 1869.

Author:  George Cupples
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [4–10 Nov 1869]
Classmark:  DAR 83: 147
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6970

From J. J. Moulinié   5 November 1869

Summary

Reinwald will be pleased to publish Descent.

He would also like to publish a Moulinié translation of the latest English edition of Origin. Negotiations with the old publisher are needed.

Author:  Jean Jacques Moulinié
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Nov 1869
Classmark:  DAR 171: 274
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6971

From Frederick Smith   5 November 1869

thumbnail

Summary

Sends reference to stridulation in an article about Scolytus by Dr Chapman "Observations on the economy of British species of Scolytus", Entomol. Mon. Mag. 6 (1870): 126–31.

Author:  Frederick Smith
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Nov 1869
Classmark:  DAR 82: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6972

From T. H. Farrer   5 November 1869

Summary

Sends a "guess" about Mimosa leaf structure as an answer to one of CD’s questions.

Has found a Passiflora princeps.

Author:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Nov 1869
Classmark:  DAR 164: 60
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6973

From J. V. Carus   6 November 1869

Summary

Thanks CD for his kind offer [of translation rights for Descent].

Feels it a duty to make CD’s "way of looking to fields [recte facts] under the guidance of ideas" known to his countrymen, especially since zoologists and physiologists seem to think science is nothing but the accumulation of facts and have almost forgotten to reason about them.

Explains that, contrary to Carl Vogt’s report to CD, he continues as Professor of Comparative Anatomy at Leipzig, but he has failed to get the place of the late Professor of Zoology, as he had hoped.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Nov 1869
Classmark:  DAR 161: 73
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6974

From George Busk   7 November 1869

Summary

The Polyzoa CD saw emerging from cells of a particular growth appear to be parasites. The main growth is a species of Sertularia; the minute parasites take possession of vacated cells.

Author:  George Busk
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Nov 1869
Classmark:  DAR 160: 382
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6975

To Antoinette Louisa Brown Blackwell   8 November [1869]

Summary

Thanks for Studies in general science [by A. B. Blackwell (1869)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Antoinette Louisa Brown Blackwell
Date:  8 Nov [1869]
Classmark:  Radcliffe Institute, Schlesinger Library, Harvard University (Blackwell Family Papers A–77 Folder 44)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6976

To John Murray   8 November [1869]

Summary

Masson et Fils have brought out a third French edition [of Origin] without informing CD and without the advantage of the corrections of the 4th and 5th English editions. For this and other reasons CD wants to give translation rights for the 5th English edition to C. Reinwald.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  8 Nov [1869]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 ff. 205–6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6977

To James Paget   8 November [1869]

Summary

Thanks for confirmation about the extent of blushing.

Passed JP’s house but did not call; and now regrets his restraint.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Paget, 1st baronet
Date:  8 Nov [1869]
Classmark:  The Argyll Papers, Inveraray Castle (NRAS 1209/856)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6977F

From John Murray   8 November [1869]

Summary

JM advises CD regarding his relations with Masson, the French publisher of the Origin [1866], and the possibility of Reinwald’s publishing a translation of the 5th edition.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Nov [1869]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 373
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6978

To Frederick Smith   9 November [1869]

Summary

CD thanks FS for his note on Scolytus. Asks that his son [E. A. Smith] send proofs when the last woodcuts [for Coleoptera chapter of Descent] are completed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Frederick Smith
Date:  9 Nov [1869]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6979

To A. W. Bennett   9 November [1869]

Summary

Returns proofs of a notice which he finds "highly honourable" to himself.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred William Bennett
Date:  9 Nov [1869]
Classmark:  Provenance unknown: formerly Sang Collection of Autographs and Manuscripts, Illinois Institute of Technology
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6980
Document type
letter (514)
Correspondent
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Hooker, J. D. (34)
Farrer, T. H. (17)
Tait, W. C. (17)
Wallace, A. R. (17)
Carus, J. V. (15)
Cupples, George (14)
Huxley, T. H. (13)
Tegetmeier, W. B. (12)
Cooke, R. F. (11)
Murray, John (b) (10)
Müller, Fritz (10)
John Murray (9)
Lubbock, John (9)
Unidentified (9)
Maw, George (8)
Lyell, Charles (7)
Moulinié, J. J. (7)
Weir, J. J. (7)
Bentham, George (6)
Croll, James (6)
Darwin, G. H. (6)
Gray, Asa (6)
Reuter, Adolf (6)
Bate, C. S. (5)
Blyth, Edward (5)
Claus, C. F. (5)
Darwin, W. E. (5)
Dawkins, W. B. (5)
Delpino, Federico (5)
Eyton, T. C. (5)
Günther, Albert (5)
Layton, Charles (5)
Smith, Frederick (a) (5)
Darwin, E. A. (4)
Haeckel, Ernst (4)
Henslow, George (4)
Koch, Eduard (4)
Moggridge, J. T. (4)
Orton, James (4)
Rérolle, Louis (4)
Becker, L. E. (3)
Beddoe, John (3)
Bennett, A. W. (3)
Caton, J. D. (3)
Crichton-Browne, James (3)
D. Appleton & Co (3)
Dareste, Camille (3)
Donders, F. C. (3)
E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung (3)
Elliot, Walter (3)
Galton, Francis (3)
Hegt, J. N. (3)
Innes, J. B. (3)
Masters, M. T. (3)
Meyer, A. B. (3)
Paget, James (3)
Preyer, William (3)
Reade, W. W. (3)
Recht, Georg (3)
Spruce, Richard (3)
Athenæum (2)
Blackwall, John (2)
Boner, Charles (2)
Bowman, William (2)
Bridgman, W. K. (2)
Brusina, Spiridion (2)
Candolle, Alphonse de (2)
Cobbold, T. S. (2)
Dohrn, Anton (2)
Engleheart, S. P. (2)
Faivre, Ernest (2)
Forbes, David (2)
Gray, G. R. (2)
Hancock, Albany (2)
King, P. G. (2)
Kovalevsky, V. O. (2)
Lloyd, M. C. (2)
Malven, F. M. (2)
McNeill, Archibald (2)
Meteyard, Eliza (2)
Müller, Hermann (2)
Norman, A. M. (2)
Ogle, William (2)
Quatrefages de Bréau, Armand de Quatrefages (2)
Ramsay, A. C. (2)
Schmidt, Max (2)
Scott, John (2)
Smith, E. A. (2)
Stebbing, T. R. R. (2)
Thiel, Hugo (2)
Vogt, Carl (2)
Weir, H. W. (2)
Wilckens, Martin (2)
Agassiz, Louis (1)
Alglave, Émile (1)
Annals and Magazine of Natural History (1)
Bates, H. W. (1)
Beck, John (1)
Blackwell, A. L. B. (1)
Boardman, A. F. (1)
Boccardo, Gerolamo (1)
Buckler, William (1)
Busk, George (1)
Campbell, Dudley (1)
Dallas, Charles (1)
Darwin, Francis (1)
Dub, Julius (1)
Egerton, P. de M. G.- (1)
Ehrenberg, C. G. (1)
Fairfax, Mary (1)
Fleury, J. J. (1)
Fox, John & Sons (1)
Gardeners’ Chronicle (1)
Gilbert, J. H. (1)
Glenie, S. O. (1)
Gray, J. L. (1)
Greig, Mary (1)
Hartsen, F. A. von (1)
Haussoullier, C. P. (1)
Hellins, John (1)
Higgins, John (1)
Hordern, E. F. (1)
Jones, A. H. (1)
Jäger, Gustav (1)
Kerner von Marilaun, Anton (1)
Kippist, Richard (1)
Landor, Henry (1)
Lankester, E. R. (1)
Linnean Society, President and council (1)
Lubbock, E. F. (1)
Lushington, Vernon (1)
Masson, Victor et fils (1)
Maudsley, Henry (1)
Merrell, S. A. (1)
More, A. G. (1)
Nature (1)
Newton, Alfred (1)
Nilsson, Sven (1)
Orange Judd & Co. (1)
Phillips, John (1)
President and council, Linnean Society (1)
Price, John (1)
Quadri, Achille (1)
Ramsey, G. M’I. (1)
Registrar of Friendly Societies (1)
Reinwald, C.-F. (1)
Robinson, J. W. (1)
Ruck, Lawrence (1)
Scientific Opinion (1)
Scudder, S. H. (1)
Seidlitz, Karl von (1)
Sinclair, J. L. (1)
Somerville, Mary (1)
St Clair, George (1)
Swaysland, George (1)
Swinhoe, Robert (1)
Thompson, T. (1)
Trimen, Roland (1)
Tylor, E. B. (1)
V. Masson et fils (1)
Voysey, Charles (1)
Wallace, Alexander (1)
Wallich, G. C. (1)
Walsh, B. D. (1)
Wheldon, John (1)
Wilson, Edward (1)
Date
1869
01 (49)
02 (50)
03 (53)
04 (38)
05 (43)
06 (39)
07 (43)
08 (29)
09 (46)
10 (46)
11 (55)
12 (23)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter