skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1869 in date [X]
Rérolle, Louis in correspondent [X]
4 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Louis Rérolle   2 August [1869]

Summary

Gives the definition of ‘distal’ and explains what ‘thrips’ are. Suggests that LR uses his descretion in his translation of Orchids about certain descriptive phrases such as ‘saddle-formed’, but suggests he use them each at least once.

Declines offer to look over LR’s translation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Louis Rérolle
Date:  2 Aug [1869]
Classmark:  Aguttes (dealers) (20 February 2020, lot 240)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6848F

From Louis Rérolle   17 March 1869

Summary

LR undertakes translation of Orchids [1870]. Awaits CD’s new footnotes and intends to look at every flower CD mentions.

Author:  Louis Rérolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Mar 1869
Classmark:  DAR 176: 129
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6667

From Louis Rérolle   10 May 1869

Summary

French translation of Orchids will be published by Reinwald. Asks for CD’s new footnotes to be sent.

Author:  Louis Rérolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 May 1869
Classmark:  DAR 176: 130
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6741

From Louis Rérolle   30 July 1869

Summary

Progressing with translation of new footnotes for Orchids. Asks for help with a few words.

Author:  Louis Rérolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 July 1869
Classmark:  DAR 176: 131
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6846
Document type
letter (4)
Addressee
Correspondent
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Rérolle, Louis[X]
Date
1869
03 (1)
05 (1)
07 (1)
08 (1)
letter