skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1869::07 in date [X]
43 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To the Athenæum   7 [July] 1869

Summary

Because readers have arrived at different answers to the problem of the rate of increase of elephants, CD offers a rule, used by his son George, for calculating the product for any number of generations.

[Letter erroneously dated June.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Athenæum
Date:  7 [July] 1869
Classmark:  Athenæum, 17 July 1869, p. 82
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6820

To Adolph Reuter   24 July [1869]

Summary

Thanks for facts on inheritance. May be used if CD corrects 3d ed. [2d ed.] of Variation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Adolf Reuter
Date:  24 July [1869]
Classmark:  DAR 147: 297
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13837

To J. J. Weir   1 July [1869]

Summary

"My health got so bad I could do nothing at Down".

Gives information about migration of male and female birds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Jenner Weir
Date:  1 July [1869]
Classmark:  DAR 148: 324
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6810

To W. B. Tegetmeier   2 July [1869]

Summary

Thanks for procuring eggs.

CD’s health has necessitated his leaving home.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  2 July [1869]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6811

From Ernst Haeckel   2 July 1869

Summary

Comments on 5th edition of the Origin [1869];

preparation of second edition of Natürliche Schöpfungsgeschichte [1870].

The reception of CD’s theory. Mentions support of Pieter Harting and Michael Sars.

EH’s research on calcareous sponges and plans to publish monograph on them.

Author:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 July 1869
Classmark:  DAR 166: 52
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6812

From John Lubbock   2 July [1869]

Summary

Asks for reference to Louis Agassiz’s views on embryos indicating ancestral structures.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 July [1869]
Classmark:  DAR 170: 73
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6813

From John Scott   2 July 1869

Summary

Observations on expression and colour of beard and hair in natives of India.

Author:  John Scott
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 July 1869
Classmark:  DAR 85: A31, DAR 177: 119
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6815

From William Erasmus Darwin   5 July [1869]

Summary

Observations on flies visiting Epipactis.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 July [1869]
Classmark:  DAR 162: 100
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6816

From Louis Agassiz   6 July 1869

Summary

Introduces his son Alexander; believes CD will find him "more tractable" on certain questions than LA himself is.

Author:  Jean Louis Rodolphe (Louis) Agassiz
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 July 1869
Classmark:  DAR 159: 10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6817

To William Ogle   7 July [1869]

Summary

Comments on WO’s paper on Salvia [Pop. Sci. Rev. 8 (1869): 261–73], which he admires.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Ogle
Date:  7 July [1869]
Classmark:  DAR 261.5: 3 (EH 88205901)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6818

To W. E. Darwin   7 [July 1869]

Summary

Thanks him for his excellent observations [on Epipactis?]; would like WED to watch for some large insect visiting the plant.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  7 [July 1869]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 130
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6819

From William Ogle   [after 7 July 1869]

Summary

WO very gratified by CD’s complimentary remarks on his Salvia article.

Author:  William Ogle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 7 July 1869]
Classmark:  DAR 173: 2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6821

To J. D. Hooker   8 July [1869]

Summary

Simeon Habel of New York has returned from Galapagos. CD has asked him to send any plants to JDH.

Reading Nägeli convinces him that it is all-important to learn all about polymorphic or protean genera for the "Laws of Variability".

New Zealand genera are interesting and have perplexed him for years.

Has read paper on snakes. Thinks it is not fascination but fear that makes the victim fall into snake’s power.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  8 July [1869]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 137–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6822

To T. H. Huxley   9 July [1869]

Summary

Haeckel wants British specimens of calcareous sponges. Can THH tell him to whom he can apply?

Health not improving – cannot climb even a hill.

Has heard THH’s article on Comte ["Scientific aspects of Positivism", Lay sermons (1870)] is a splendid success.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  9 July [1869]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology, and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 271)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6823

From George Robert Gray   9 July 1869

Summary

Asks for a testimonial.

Author:  George Robert Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 July 1869
Classmark:  DAR 96: 69v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6824

From W. C. Tait   11 July 1869

Summary

Drosophyllum lusitanicum.

Believes principle of natural selection can be more widely applied.

Flower structure of Geranium.

Author:  William Chester Tait
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 July 1869
Classmark:  DAR 178: 48
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6825

From W. E. Darwin   12 July 1869

Summary

Bees visiting Epipactis.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 July 1869
Classmark:  DAR 162: 101
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6826

To G. R. Gray   12 July 1869

Summary

Would be glad to send GRG a testimonial of his abilities as a naturalist, but is not qualified to express opinion on his works in ornithology or entomology.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Robert Gray
Date:  12 July 1869
Classmark:  The British Library (Egerton MS 2348: 232–3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6827

From Alexander Wallace   15 July [1869]

thumbnail

Summary

Gives information on the proportions of sexes of certain moths. [See Descent 1: 313.]

Author:  Alexander Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 July [1869]
Classmark:  DAR 86: A98
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6829

From T. H. Huxley   16 July 1869

Summary

Has already referred Haeckel’s request to J. S. Bowerbank.

Has lost track of collectors and naturalists "by grace of the dredge" because of other work and ""the great question of "Darwinismus" which is such a worry to us all"".

Family health.

Author:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 July 1869
Classmark:  DAR 166: 320
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6830
Page: 1 2 3  Next
letter