skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1865 in date [X]
254 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From Emma and Charles Darwin   13 May 1865


CD and ED bequeath an annuity of £50 to J. Parslow [the Darwins’ butler].

Author:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin; Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 May 1865
Classmark:  DAR 210.10: 26
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4832

To Daniel Oliver   20 October [1865]


Sends Fritz Müller’s paper ["Notes on some of the climbing plants near Desterro, in S. Brazil", J. Proc. Linn. Soc. Lond. (Bot.) 9 (1867): 344–9] to be refereed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  20 Oct [1865]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 63 (EH 88206046)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4920

To J. D. Hooker   22 and 28 [October 1865]



Thinks Royal Society’s failure to honour W. J. Hooker may be due to small number of botanists on Council.

Interest in H. J. Carter’s papers in Annals and Magazine of Natural History on lower organisms.

On Wallace; anthropology.

H. H. Travers’ paper on Chatham Islands [J. Proc. Linn. Soc. Lond. 9 (1865): 135–44].

W. C. Wells’s paper of 1813 ["Essay on dew", Two Essays (1818)] anticipates discovery of natural selection.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  22 and 28 Oct 1865
Classmark:  DAR 115: 277
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4921

From Daniel Oliver   23 October 1865


Returns a paper which he has looked over.

Cannot name the scrap of Strychnos with any certainty.

Author:  Daniel Oliver
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Oct 1865
Classmark:  DAR 173: 30
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4922

From Hermann Kindt   23 October 1865


Thanks for autograph [Autographic Mirror 3 (1865) no. 262] and corrections of HK’s biographical sketch of CD [Autographic Mirror 3 (1865): 82–3].

Author:  Hermann Adolph Christian August (Hermann) Kindt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Oct 1865
Classmark:  DAR 169: 16
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4923

To W. D. Fox   25–6 October [1865]


Bad health during last six months has prevented scientific work.

News of family.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  25–6 Oct [1865]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 146)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4924

From Alfred Newton   27 October 1865


Asks CD to support his candidacy for Professorship of Zoology at Cambridge. Since he has spent many years travelling, he is not well enough known at the University.

Author:  Alfred Newton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 Oct 1865
Classmark:  DAR 172: 43
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4925

To Alfred Newton   29 October [1865]


Declines writing testimonial for AN for the Cambridge Professorship in Zoology. The post requires expertise in comparative anatomy and histology, whereas AN’s work is on habits and colours of birds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Newton
Date:  29 Oct [1865]
Classmark:  Cambridge University Library (MS Add. 9839/1D/56)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4926

From Alfred Newton   30 October 1865


CD need not apologise for not writing a testimonial for him. He knows comparative anatomy, although he has confined his publication to ornithology. Agrees that with a few members of the University a recommendation from CD would be harmful.

Author:  Alfred Newton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Oct 1865
Classmark:  DAR 172: 45
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4927

From George Henslow   1 November 1865


Has made observations on pollination mechanism in Medicago sativa [J. Linn. Soc. Lond. (Bot.) 9 (1867): 327–9], which his brother-in-law [J. D. Hooker] would accept. Wants to check that CD has not already made them.

Also sends interpretation of Salvia.

His observations come from following CD’s generalisation in Origin [p. 79] on necessity of out-crossing.

Author:  George Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Nov 1865
Classmark:  DAR 166: 150
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4928

To F. W. Farrar   2 November [1865]


Has enjoyed FWF’s volume [Chapters on language]. Had found Max Müller’s theory obscure and weak.

Believes FWF would come to agree with him on species if he studied general questions in natural history. To argue for immutability of species on the basis of geology resembles a wise savage in a nation with no books saying his language has never changed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Frederic William Farrar
Date:  2 Nov [1865]
Classmark:  University of Virginia Library, Special Collections (3314 1: 80)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4929

From Fritz Müller   5 November 1865


Thanks CD for the copy of Orchids and papers on Linum and Lythrum [Collected papers 2: 93–105; 106–31].

Intends to travel to the River Itajahy and will make observations on climbing plants. Is not sure whether Dalbergia is a winding plant.

CD has changed FM’s whole perception of nature.

CD has helped him to understand distribution of coastal flora.

The vegetation on Desterro is changing.

Louis Agassiz is seeking evidence against transmutation in the distribution of the fish in the Amazon.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Nov 1865
Classmark:  Möller 1915–21, 2: 76–7.
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4929A

To George Henslow   [2–5 November 1865]


Reports the results of an experiment to compare the weight of seeds produced in plants of [Medicago sativa] by self-pollination and by insect pollination.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Henslow
Date:  [2–5 Nov 1865]
Classmark:  Journal of the Linnean Society (Botany) 9 (1867): 328 n.
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4929F

From Asa Gray   6 November 1865


Discusses "Climbing plants" and his own abstract of it.

CD should publish results of self-fertilising dimorphic plants.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Nov 1865
Classmark:  DAR 165: 149
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4930

From George Henslow   6 November 1865


Pleased CD confirms his observations on Salvia.

Spring action of Medicago stamens described.

Author:  George Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Nov 1865
Classmark:  DAR 166: 151
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4931

From F. W. Farrar   6 November 1865


Grateful for CD’s approval of Chapters on language.

Is inclined to believe that the races of man were primordially distinct.

Author:  Frederic William Farrar
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Nov 1865
Classmark:  DAR 164: 35
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4933

From Ernst Haeckel   11 November 1865


Has heard from Huxley that CD has been ill.

Progress on his book [Generelle Morphologie (1866)] has been slow.

Has been named "ordentlicher Professor". Has 150 listeners in his lectures on CD’s theory.

Thanks CD for copy [of "Climbing plants"].

Sends his book [Beiträge zur Naturgeschichte der Hydromedusen, 1. Heft: Die Familie der Rüsselquallen (Geryonidae) (1865)] and two articles.

Calls attention to a new rhizopod from Nice.

Author:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Nov 1865
Classmark:  DAR 166: 40
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4934

From B. D. Walsh   12 November 1865


Acknowledges CD’s paper on "Climbing plants".

Mentions Asa Gray’s complimentary notice in Silliman’s Journal [Am. J. Sci. and Arts 2d ser. 40 (1865): 273–82].

His difficulty in understanding how males of Daphnia or any other genus can produce eggs. If there is no impregnation, how can there be sexual organs? Why call one form male and another female?

He has sent CD his paper on "the new Potato Bug".

Will soon send "On Phytophagi Species & Unity of Coloration". [phytophagic!?]

Complaints about practices of the English Post Office.

His current research and description of the rationale of his experiments.

Author:  Benjamin Dann Walsh
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Nov 1865
Classmark:  Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago (Riley bequest of 1948)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4934A

From Hermann Kindt   13 November 1865


Sends facsimile reproduction of CD’s handwriting [Autographic Mirror 3 (1865) no. 262]. Requests a sample of Dr Erasmus Darwin’s hand and autograph for publication.

Author:  Hermann Adolph Christian August (Hermann) Kindt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Nov 1865
Classmark:  DAR 169: 17
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4935

To Eliza Meteyard   16 November [1865]


Asks her to send some specimens of Dr Erasmus Darwin’s handwriting for the Autographic Mirror.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Eliza Meteyard
Date:  16 Nov [1865]
Classmark:  Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4936
Document type
letter (254)
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Hooker, J. D. (45)
Huxley, T. H. (13)
Tegetmeier, W. B. (13)
Müller, Fritz (9)
Gray, Asa (7)
Wallace, A. R. (7)
Cresy, Edward, Jr (6)
Hooker, F. H. (6)
Kindt, Hermann (6)
Walsh, B. D. (6)
Kingsley, Charles (5)
Murray, John (b) (5)
Denny, Henry (4)
Henslow, George (4)
Lyell, Charles (4)
Moggridge, J. T. (4)
Wright, E. P. (4)
Bartlett, A. D. (3)
Bates, H. W. (3)
Buckland, Frank (3)
Butler, Samuel (b) (3)
Darwin, E. A. (3)
Darwin, W. E. (3)
Farrar, F. W. (3)
Fox, W. D. (3)
Kippist, Richard (3)
Lubbock, John (3)
Masters, M. T. (3)
Meteyard, Eliza (3)
Newton, Alfred (3)
Oliver, Daniel (3)
Scott, John (3)
Sulivan, B. J. (3)
Busk, George (2)
Chapman, John (2)
Darwin, Emma (2)
Haast, Julius von (2)
Haeckel, Ernst (2)
Heine, Rudolph (2)
Higgins, John (2)
Holland, Henry (2)
Maw, George (2)
Ransome, Frederick (2)
Ray Society (2)
Rivers, Thomas (2)
Shaw, James (2)
Wedgwood, Emma (2)
Wyman, Jeffries (2)
Acland, H. W. (1)
Appleton, T. G. (1)
Babington, C. C. (1)
Bennet, C. A. (b) (1)
Bowman, William (1)
Brady, G. S. (1)
Burn, Robert (1)
Crotch, W. D. (1)
Eyton, T. C. (1)
Falconer, Hugh (1)
Gray, J. E. (1)
Harrison, L. C. (1)
Hordern, E. F. (1)
Huxley, H. A. (1)
Leighton, W. A. (1)
Lubbock, E. F. (1)
Munro, Robertson (1)
Naudin, C. V. (1)
Pattison, W. P. (1)
Rolfe, R. M. (1)
Rolle, Friedrich (1)
Royer, C. A. (1)
Rütimeyer, Ludwig (1)
Schleicher, August (1)
Shaw, Charles (1)
Spencer, Herbert (1)
Spruce, Richard (1)
Swinhoe, Robert (1)
Trimen, Roland (1)
Walford, Edward (1)
Weale, J. P. M. (1)
Wedgwood, L. C. (1)
Wichura, M. E. (1)
01 (37)
02 (19)
03 (28)
04 (22)
05 (22)
06 (23)
07 (13)
08 (10)
09 (15)
10 (30)
11 (19)
12 (16)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next