skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1862 in date [X]
Maw, George in correspondent [X]
3 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To George Maw   3 July [1862]

Summary

Thinks GM’s Pelargonium is a case of true correlated characters. Feels secondary sexual characters are only accidental correlations; does not see the same necessity for close simultaneous development of certain characters as GM does.

Will forward a copy of his Orchids.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Maw
Date:  3 July [1862]
Classmark:  Royal Horticultural Society, Lindley Library (MAW/1/8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3640

From George Maw   30 June 1862

Summary

Discusses cases of assumed correlation, e.g., facial hair and generative organs, sexual characters in castrated oxen. Finds it difficult to see how correlation of functions which would be useless separately can be accumulated gradually through natural selection.

Author:  George Maw
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 99: 5–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3629

From George Maw   7 July 1862

Summary

Thanks CD for sending Orchids.

Reports observations by his uncle relating to the successful breeding of a male mule with a horse.

Author:  George Maw
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 July 1862
Classmark:  DAR 171.1: 96
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3644
Document type
letter (3)
Author
Addressee
Correspondent
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Maw, George[X]
Date
1862
06 (1)
07 (2)
letter