skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1862::06 in date [X]
55 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

From Francis Walker   24 June [1862]



Identified two flies as species of Empis that suck flowers, but the females also feed on small Diptera.

Author:  Francis Walker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 June [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 70: 182
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10547

To James Brown Gibson   [after 29 June 1862]


Thanks JBG for acceding to his wishes in the endeavour to discover whether hair colour in Europeans is correlated with susceptibility to tropical diseases [see Descent 1: 244–5].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Brown Gibson
Date:  [after 29 June 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3361

To John Higgins   1 June 1862


Acknowledges receipt of £240 7s. 9d.

Hopes to meet JH at Erasmus Alvey Darwin’s house in London on Friday 6 June.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Higgins
Date:  1 June 1862
Classmark:  Dominic Winter Auctioneers (dealers) (10 April 2019, lot 138)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3581F

To Daniel Oliver   [before 11 June 1862]


Asa Gray approves of Orchids; his work on American species confirms CD’s findings.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  [before 11 June 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 33 (EH 88206016)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3583

From G. C. Oxenden   [before 21 June 1862]


Sad that CD is quitting his studies of orchids.

Author:  George Chichester Oxenden
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 21 June 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 173.2: 52
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3584

From W. E. Darwin   June 1862


Found 27 flowers of Orchis latifolia and in 16 of them were dead flies of one particular kind.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 162.1: 89
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3585

From Asa Gray   [2 June 1862]


Discusses heterostyly in Houstonia.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [2 June 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 110 (ser. 2): 66
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3588

From G. C. Oxenden   4 June [1862]


Sends orchids.

Author:  George Chichester Oxenden
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 June [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 173.2: 53
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3589

From E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung   7 June 1862


Discusses publication of second German edition of Origin [1863] and German edition of Orchids [1862].

Author:  E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 177: 68
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3590

To A. G. More   7 June [1862]


Suspects that bee orchid is self-fertilising form of Ophrys arachnites, which requires insect aid.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Goodman More
Date:  7 June [1862]
Classmark:  Royal Irish Academy (A. G. More papers RIA MS 4 B 46)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3591

To Daniel Oliver   8 June [1862]


Describes floral anatomy of a Catasetum sent by DO.

Has gone on from orchids to studying insect agency in Pelargonium.

His doubts on the worth of publishing Orchids.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  8 June [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 32 (EH 88206015)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3592

From J. D. Hooker   9 June 1862



Oliver has written able paper on dimorphism for Natural History Review [n.s. 2 (1862): 235–43].

CD’s account of Viola is novel and interesting.

Has finished Cameroon mountain plants.

Jury work at exhibition.

Domestic problems – wife is ill, no cook, etc.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 101: 40–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3593

To Journal of Horticulture   [before 10 June 1862]


Asks whether any correspondents have observed any sensible differences between the bees kept in different parts of Great Britain. CD has heard from several sources that breeds of bee in different areas vary.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Journal of Horticulture
Date:  [before 10 June 1862]
Classmark:  Institut de France, Bibliothèque, Ms 2441-XII ff. 343–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3594

To Asa Gray   10–20 June [1862]


Thanks AG for praise of Orchids and his notes on several American species of orchid. Comments on AG’s observations.

Is experimenting [on dimorphism] with Rhexia and Melastoma.

Asks AG’s opinion of a paper by Thomas Meehan ["On the uniformity of relative characters between allied species of European and American trees", Proc. Philadelphia Acad. Nat. Sci. (1862): 10–13] which is the best case of the apparently direct action of the conditions of life CD has seen.

Requests postage stamp for his ill son [Leonard].

Thanks AG for observations on Cypripedium and gives recent observations of his own.

Arethusa is very pretty; structure seems like that of Vanilla.

Finds the little (so-called imperfect) flowers of Viola and Oxalis curious: the pollen-grains emit their tubes whilst within the anthers, and they travel in straight lines right to the stigmas.

Sympathises with events in the U. S.

Reports on French translation of Origin by Mlle C. Royer, "one of the cleverest & oddest women in Europe".

Alphonse de Candolle says he wants direct proof of natural selection; "he will have to wait a long time for that".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  10–20 June [1862]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (66)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3595

To H. W. Bates   11 June [1862]


Encloses a question [missing] concerning language [from Hensleigh Wedgwood].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Walter Bates
Date:  11 June [1862]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.284)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3596

To J. D. Hooker   11 June [1862]



Sorry to hear of Mrs Hooker’s health and domestic problems. Wishes natural selection had produced neuters who would not flirt or marry.

Will be eager to hear Cameroon results.

Wishes JDH would discuss the "mundane glacial period". Still believes it will be "the turning point of all recent geographical distribution".

Pollen placed for 65 hours on apparent (CD still thinks real) stigma of Leschenaultia has not protruded a vestige of a tube.

"Oliver the omniscient" has produced an article in Botanische Zeitung with accurate account of all CD saw in Viola.

Asa Gray’s "red-hot" praise of Orchids [Am. J. Sci. 2d ser. 34 (1862): 138–51].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  11 June [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 155
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3597

From Frederick Currey   12 June 1862


Offers rare Irish orchid (Spiranthes).

Author:  Frederick Currey
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 161.2: 305
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3598

From George Howard Darwin   [12 June 1862]


Leonard Darwin has scarlet fever so GHD has said he should be sent home and has asked E. A. Williams to call at Down.

Author:  George Howard Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [12 June 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 251
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3598F

To Leonard Horner   13 June [1862]


Sends condolences on death of LH’s wife. Recalls many pleasant hours in Bedford Place. He and Emma thank LH for sending the memorial paper.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leonard Horner
Date:  13 June [1862]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (MS.2216: 167)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3599

To Patrick Matthew   13 June [1862]


It would be a pleasure to see "the first enunciator of the theory of Natural Selection" but his health makes it impossible. Hopes to come to London soon and would like to arrange an interview with PM if he is staying more than a week.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Patrick Matthew
Date:  13 June [1862]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (Acc. 10963)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3600
Page: 1 2 3  Next