skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1862::04 in date [X]
35 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

From Henry Holland   [c. April 1862]

Summary

Louis Pasteur’s memoir "is a very able and convincing one" ["Mémoire sur les corpuscles organisés qui existent dans l’atmosphère", Ann. Sci. Nat. (Zool.) 3d ser. 16 (1861): 5–98].

Author:  Henry Holland
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [c. Apr 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 166.2: 237
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3490

To Charles Lyell   1 April [1862]

Summary

Explains how melting of ice in Glen Spean could have successively freed two lower cols, thus establishing the water-levels that determined the two lower shelves in Glen Roy.

Plans to read a paper to the Linnean Society ["Sexual forms of Catasetum", Collected papers 2: 63–70].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  1 Apr [1862]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.275)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3491

To Octavian Blewitt   2 April [1862]

Summary

Declines the honour of acting as Steward at the Annual Dinner of the Royal Literary Fund.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Octavian Blewitt
Date:  2 Apr [1862]
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan 96: RLF 4/16 1862 file 3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3491F

From George Busk   1 April 1862

Summary

E. A. Parkes informs him there will be difficulty about the Army returns [on CD’s Query to Army surgeons, see Freeman, Works of Charles Darwin, p. 111] owing to official obstructions by Director General. [Enclosed letter from Parkes to GB says that the Director General does not think that Army surgeons could be asked to collect information systematically for CD, but perhaps some informal, voluntary arrangement could be made.]

Author:  George Busk
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Apr 1862
Classmark:  DAR 160.3: 377, DAR 174.1: 22
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3492

From J. D. Hooker   [7 April 1862]

thumbnail

Summary

Will hope to be able to send Vanilla flowers in a day or two.

How is CD after his tremendous effect on the placid Linneans? ["Sexual forms of Catasetum", Collected papers 2: 63–70; read 3 Apr 1862.]

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [7 Apr 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 32
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3495

From Alfred Russel Wallace   7 April 1862

Summary

Cannot accept invitation at present.

Is sending a wild honeycomb from Timor.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Apr 1862
Classmark:  DAR 106/7 (ser. 2): 1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3496

From Edward Newman   6 April 1862

Summary

Has several specimens illustrating dimorphism in insects that he would be happy to leave where CD could examine them.

Discusses the ant genera Formica and Atta, and the origin of the two forms of workers commonly found in the species of these genera.

Author:  Edward Newman
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Apr 1862
Classmark:  DAR 172.2: 38
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3497

From Edmund Alexander Parkes   8 April 1862

Summary

Suggests CD use a tabular form for Army doctors to write their observations on, and suggests it be limited to malaria, yellow fever, and dysentery.

Author:  Edmund Alexander Parkes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Apr 1862
Classmark:  DAR 174.1: 23
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3498

To J. D. Hooker   9 [April 1862]

thumbnail

Summary

On Vanilla.

Asks JDH to observe whether he has both long- and short-styled form of Menyanthes

and whether he has "Saxifrages with long hairs glandular at the tip".

The Linnean Society session made him vomit all night. Fears he must give up trying to read papers or speak. "It is a horrid bore. I can do nothing like other people."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  9 [Apr 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 148
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3500

To John Murray   9 April [1862]

Summary

JM is a bold man to print 1500 copies [of Orchids].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  9 Apr [1862]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff. 116–117)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3501

From Daniel Oliver   10 April 1862

Summary

Now believes flowers of Fumariaceae must be self-fertilised.

Planning a piece on dimorphism in the Natural History Review ["On the two forms, or dimorphic condition, in the species of Primula … by Charles Darwin", n.s. 2 (1862): 235–43].

Observations on Campanula dimorphism.

Author:  Daniel Oliver
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Apr 1862
Classmark:  DAR 173.1: 13
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3502

To Andrew Murray   10 April [1862]

Summary

Did CD lend AM a pamphlet on cave insects by S. Scudder ["On the genus Raphidophora", Proc. Boston Soc. Nat. Hist. 8 (1861–2): 6–14]? CD much wants it and remembers lending it to someone.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Andrew Dickson (Andrew) Murray
Date:  10 Apr [1862]
Classmark:  R. D. Pyrah
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3503

To Daniel Oliver   12 [April 1862]

Summary

DO’s observations on polymorphism in Primula and Campanula. CD recognises three classes of dimorphism, as in Primula, Thymus, and Campanula and violets.

DO’s Campanula paper and Royal Institution lecture [Not. Proc. R. Inst. G. B. 3 (1858–62): 431–3].

CD’s interest in Fumariaceae from A. Gray’s comments on "selfing".

Bees bite holes in flowers when same species grows in high density.

Organisation of CD’s notes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  12 [Apr 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 1 (EH 88205985)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3504

From Andrew Murray   12 April 1862

Summary

AM did not borrow a Samuel Scudder pamphlet from CD; in fact he was not aware of its existence.

Author:  Andrew Dickson (Andrew) Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Apr 1862
Classmark:  DAR 171.2: 325
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3505

From J. D. Hooker   [15 April 1862]

thumbnail

Summary

Is it convenient for him and Willy to come to Down from Thursday to Sunday?

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [15 Apr 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 31
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3506

To H. W. Bates   16 April [1862]

Summary

Invitation to visit; Hooker will be present. Gives directions to Down. Also plans to invite John Lubbock over for an evening.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Walter Bates
Date:  16 Apr [1862]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3507

To C. E. Brown-Séquard   16 April [1862]

Summary

French translation of 3d edition of Origin has been greatly delayed.

Very pleased with CEB-S’s intent to write a review and with his near agreement. CD believes that so many really good judges concur with him in the main that his views will ultimately prevail. Continental reviews have been more positive than British ones. Édouard Claparède’s ["M. Darwin et sa théorie de la formation des espèces", Rev. Ger. 16 (1861): 523–59; 17 (1861): 232–63] is too favourable.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Édouard Brown-Séquard
Date:  16 Apr [1862]
Classmark:  Royal College of Physicians of London (MS-BROWC/981/97)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3508

From John Lubbock   17 April 1862

Summary

JL is going on a geological excursion with Joseph Prestwich and John Evans.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Apr 1862
Classmark:  DAR 170.1: 29
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3510

From H. W. Bates   [17 April 1862]

Summary

Accepts CD’s invitation.

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [17 Apr 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 160.1: 66
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3511

To Daniel Oliver   20 [April 1862]

Summary

Requests Oxalis acetosella, which he suspects is dimorphic.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  20 [Apr 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 56 (EH 88206039)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3512
Page: 1 2  Next
letter