skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1862::03 in date [X]
34 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To ?   11 March [1862–9]

Summary

Gives permission to insert in his magazine anything from CD’s works.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  11 Mar [1862-9]
Classmark:  Karpeles Manuscript Library Museums
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13877F

To ?   29 March [1862–9]

Summary

Declines, regretfully, to contribute to or to have his name appear on a new magazine.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  29 Mar [1862-9]
Classmark:  Wellcome Collection (MS.7781/1–32 item 8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13878

From H. G. Bronn   [before 11 March 1862]

Summary

Asks if CD will have corrections for 2d German ed. of Origin.

CD’s theory only natural way to explain creation but contradicts current knowledge about origin of life from inorganic matter.

Has read Primula paper [Collected papers 2: 45–63] with interest.

Author:  Heinrich Georg Bronn
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 11 Mar 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 160.3: 319
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3363

From D. F. Nevill   [c. 14 March 1862]

Summary

Belated thanks for CD’s photograph.

When in London at Rucker’s wonderful gardens she learned he had sent CD a Mormodes.

Author:  Dorothy Fanny Nevill
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [c. 14 Mar 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 172.1: 28
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3431

From Charles Lyell   [28–31 March 1862]

Summary

Suggests that the height of the water which formed the shelves in Glen Roy was determined not by the height of the blocking glacier but by the height of a col. Notes problems in the idea.

Author:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [28–31 Mar 1862]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.274)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3463

From C. W. Crocker   [before 13 March 1862]

Summary

Will experiment on hollyhocks as CD suggests.

On desirability of a place for experiments to be set up by Government or a scientific society. Kew is too busy for experiments.

Author:  Charles William Crocker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 13 Mar 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 161.2: 255
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3464

From J. D. Hooker   3 March 1862

thumbnail

Summary

Had it not been for CD, JDH would never have written such papers as his one on Arctic flora. The "evulgation" of CD’s views is the purest pleasure he derives from them.

He too is staggered that Greenland ought to have been depopulated during the glacial period. Absence of Caltha is fatal to its re-population by chance migration.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Mar 1862
Classmark:  DAR 101: 17–19
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3465

From George E. Harris   3 March 1862

Summary

GEH, a tailor, wishes to trade some work for a presentation copy of the Origin.

Author:  George Edwin Harris
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Mar 1862
Classmark:  DAR 166.1: 107
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3466

To G. E. Harris   5 March [1862]

Summary

Has directed Murray to send Harris a copy of Origin.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Edwin Harris
Date:  5 Mar [1862]
Classmark:  Mrs Jane Brown (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3466F

From Asa Gray   6 March [1862]

Summary

Will observe Rhexia for CD to see whether it is dimorphic.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Mar [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 165: 107
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3467

To J. D. Hooker   7 March [1862]

thumbnail

Summary

CD wishes he could sympathise with Asa Gray’s politics.

Orchids to appear soon.

Pre-glacial Arctic distribution.

Work on floral dimorphism.

High opinion of Buckle as a writer.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  7 Mar [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 185
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3468

From J. D. Hooker   [10 March 1862]

thumbnail

Summary

Returns Asa Gray’s letter. Disappointed with Gray. Comments on America. British–American relations.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [10 Mar 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 20–2; Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3469

To H. G. Bronn   11 March [1862]

Summary

Pleased that new German edition of Origin is wanted. Wishes to make corrections.

Suggests German translation of Orchids.

Comments on HGB’s book [Untersuchungen (1858)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Heinrich Georg Bronn
Date:  11 Mar [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 153
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3470

From C. W. Crocker   13 March 1862

Summary

Informs CD where, at Kew, to find Epipactis palustris.

Has never trusted Donald Beaton.

Author:  Charles William Crocker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Mar 1862
Classmark:  DAR 161.2: 256
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3471

To J. D. Hooker   14 March [1862]

thumbnail

Summary

Thinks JDH is a bit hard on Asa Gray.

Bates’s letter is that of a true thinker. Asks to see JDH’s to Bates. Point raised in it is most difficult. "There is one clear line of distinction; – when many parts of structure as in woodpecker show distinct adaptation to external bodies, it is preposterous to attribute them to effect of climate etc. – but when a single point, alone, as a hooked seed, it is conceivable that it may thus have arisen." His study of orchids shows nearly all parts of the flower co-adapted for fertilisation by insects and therefore the result of natural selection. Mormodes ignea "is a prodigy of adaptation".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  14 Mar [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 150
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3472

To Asa Gray   15 March [1862]

Summary

Gives some observations on changes in pistil position with age in Monochaetum. Asks whether AG can observe Rhexia for similar movements.

"One of the best men, though at present unknown", H. W. Bates, has taken up natural selection.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  15 Mar [1862]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (64)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3473

From J. D. Hooker   17 March 1862

thumbnail

Summary

JDH has probably influenced Bates by pointing out applicability of CD’s views to his cases.

Is greatly puzzled by difference in effect of external conditions on individual animals and plants. Cannot conceive that climate could affect even such a single character as a hooked seed.

Does not think Huxley is right about "saltus".

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Mar 1862
Classmark:  DAR 101: 23–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3474

From M. T. Masters   17 March 1862

Summary

He has only an uncertain memory of the placement of stamens in the [monstrous?] primrose CD asked about.

Author:  Maxwell Tylden Masters
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Mar 1862
Classmark:  DAR 171.1: 67
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3475

To Richard Kippist   18 March [1862]

Summary

Sends paper to be read ["Sexual forms of Catasetum", Collected papers 2: 63–70].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Kippist
Date:  18 Mar [1862]
Classmark:  Linnean Society of London
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3476

To William Bernhard Tegetmeier   18 March [1862]

Summary

Orchids taking up all his time.

He longs to be at work again on poultry and rabbits.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  18 Mar [1862]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3478
Document type
letter (34)
Date
1862
03
01 (1)
03 (2)
05 (1)
06 (1)
07 (1)
10 (1)
11 (3)
13 (2)
14 (2)
15 (1)
17 (2)
18 (4)
22 (1)
23 (2)
24 (1)
26 (3)
27 (2)
28 (1)
29 (1)
30 (1)
31 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next
letter