skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1862::01 in date [X]
55 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To William Walmisley Baxter   26 January [1862]


Discusses deduction from bill for medicine.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Walmisley Baxter
Date:  26 Jan [1862]
Classmark:  University of Toronto, Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13773

To Edward Cresy   8 January [1862 or 1868]


Obliged for the Theophrastus. Will return it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  8 Jan [1862 or 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 321
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13788

From Robert Bateman   [28 January 1862]


For his father [James Bateman], he sends three more species of orchids and names of others described by CD.

Author:  Robert Bateman
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [28 Jan 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 160.1: 60
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3357

From John Brodie Innes   2 January [1862]


Quiz has been sent off to Down.

JBI will leave for Scotland on Monday.

Author:  John Brodie Innes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Jan [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 167.1: 7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3370

To J. B. Innes   [3] January [1862]


Quiz arrived safely.

CD’s three sons are in bed with bad colds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Brodie Innes
Date:  [3] Jan [1862]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3371

To Charles Edouard Brown-Séquard   2 January [1862]


Pleased to hear through Miss Pennington that CEB-S intends to review Origin in a French journal. Suggests 3d ed. as this will soon appear in French translation. Does not expect perfect agreement on so complex a subject as descent.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Édouard Brown-Séquard
Date:  2 Jan [1862]
Classmark:  Royal College of Physicians of London (MS-BROWC/981/96)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3372

From Joseph Dalton Hooker   [1 January 1862]



Sends plant specimens. William Borrer will be glad to send seeds.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 Jan 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3373

From John Lubbock   6 January 1862


Sends paper [on ancient Swiss lake-habitations, Nat. Hist. Rev. n.s. 2 (1862): 26–51] for CD’s opinion.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 170.1: 23
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3376

From Henry Walter Bates   6 January 1862


Sends CD ch. 2 of his book [The naturalist on the river Amazons] for suggestions, having accepted CD’s recommendations concerning ch. 1.

Effects of climate on dress in ch. 1 similar to, but independent of, notions expressed by CD in his Journal of researches [p. 381].

On geology, book deals with distribution and theory of deltas of the Amazon.

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 160.1: 64
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3377

From Société Impériale Zoologique d’Acclimatation   10 January 1862


Announces a meeting of the Society to elect its officers.

Author:  Société Impériale Zoologique d’Acclimatation
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 96: 11v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3379

To Société Impériale Zoologique d’Acclimatation   [after 10 January 1862]


Asks how much he owes for his annual subscription to the Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Société Impériale Zoologique d’Acclimatation
Date:  [after 10 Jan 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 11r
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3380

From H. W. Bates   11 January 1862


Grieved to hear of CD’s illness; begs him not to give moment’s thought to his MS until health has returned.

Plans to exhibit mimetic butterflies at Linnean Society.

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 160.1: 65
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3381

To H. W. Bates   13 January [1862]


Has been in bad health and has just read HWB’s MS in the last two days. Praises the book; assured it will be successful. Offers to write to Murray. Hooker interested in conclusions on colour.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Walter Bates
Date:  13 Jan [1862]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3382

From Thomas Henry Huxley   13 January 1862


Against all predictions his Edinburgh lecture was well received [Evidence as to man’s place in nature (1863)].

Took his old line about problem of infertility of hybrids as a test of CD’s views.

Report [from a newspaper] not quite right about what he said, but they have not refuted his statement that some form of progressive development theory is certainly true, nor that man and the apes come from same stock. Owen has gone in for progressive development in second edition of the Palaeontology [1861].

Author:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 166.2: 290
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3383

From Charles Carter Blake   13 January 1862


Thanks for note on his Macrauchenia paper [Ann. & Mag. Nat. Hist. 3d ser. 7 (1861): 441–3].

Asks for references to descriptions of certain bones found in South America.

Lists four fossil New World monkeys; is CD aware of any others?

Author:  Charles Carter Blake
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 160.2: 198
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3384

From C. E. Brown-Séquard   13 January 1862


Apologises for not answering CD sooner about where he will publish review [of Origin]. Review is to appear in his own journal, but will postpone publishing it until the French translation of 3d ed. appears. Expresses substantial agreement with CD’s views.

Author:  Charles Édouard Brown-Séquard
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 160.3: 327
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3385

To T. H. Huxley   14 [January 1862]


On success of THH’s Edinburgh lectures.

Agrees that THH is right that the hybrid question is a "hiatus" [in the argument for natural selection] but he overrates it. Crossed varieties frequently produce sterile offspring. On this question asks THH to read his Primula paper [Collected papers 2: 45–63]. CD suspects sterility will come to be viewed as a selected character.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  14 [Jan 1862]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 167)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3386

From John Hutton Balfour   14 January 1862


Thanks for Primula paper [Collected papers 2: 45–63]; will examine some [Edinburgh] Botanic Garden samples in its light.

Huxley visiting Edinburgh and spoke on man’s zoological relations with monkeys [see Man’s place in nature (1863)]. JHB disagrees with his views.

Author:  John Hutton Balfour
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 160.1: 31
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3387

From Henry Holland   [3–14] January [1862]


Condolences on death of Charlotte Langton [née Wedgwood].

Is waiting to hear from Lord Tankerville [see 3339].

Author:  Henry Holland
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [3–14] Jan [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 166.2: 238
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3388

To Ludwig Rütimeyer   15 [and 16] January [1862]


Lord Tankerville has not responded to the request for the skulls which LR requires for his research. CD addressed Lord T through his friend Sir Henry Holland, who is prepared to try again, despite Lord T’s rudeness.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Karl Ludwig (Ludwig) Rütimeyer
Date:  15 and 16 Jan 1862
Classmark:  Universitätsbibliothek Basel, Handschriften (G IV 91, 1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3389
Page: 1 2 3  Next