skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1844::07 in date [X]
11 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To J. D. Hooker   [14 July 1844]



Health and weather permitting, CD proposes to visit Kew.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [14 July 1844]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 13
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-763

To Henry Denny   [27 July – 10 August 1844]


Sends four packets of lice and suggests writing to Dr A. Smith, "the S. African traveller", for assistance.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Denny
Date:  [27 July – 10 Aug 1844]
Classmark:  Yale University Medical Historical Library, Harvey Cushing / John Hay Whitney Medical Library (MMS)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-763F

To J. D. Hooker   22 July [1844]



Encloses letter from Ehrenberg [762], who wants information on deep-sea soundings from JDH’s voyage, and on isolated islands.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  22 July [1844]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 14
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-764

To John Stevens Henslow   [25 July 1844]


Sends a specimen of rusty wheat from the banks of the Plata.

Asks for bits of peat he collected

and a bit of the paint used by Fuegians to colour themselves.

He will send these to C. G. Ehrenberg for analysis.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [25 July 1844]
Classmark:  John Hay Library, Brown University (Albert E. Lownes Manuscript Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-765

To The Royal Geographical Society   [30 July 1844 – 1 October 1846]


Urgently needs a Spanish map of the Cordilleras of central Chile near St Jago [Santiago].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  R. Geogr. Soc.
Date:  [30 July 1844 – 1 Oct 1846]
Classmark:  Fitzwilliam Museum
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-767

To Josiah Wedgwood III   31 July 1844


Acknowledges receipt of the order for £48 4s. 8d., and offers full indemnity for the £5,000 deposited without security.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Josiah Wedgwood, III
Date:  31 July 1844
Classmark:  Alan Wedgwood (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-767F

To J. D. Hooker   [25 July – 29 August 1844]



Encloses Ehrenberg letter, Galapagos seaweed, and specimens of Conferva.

H. Denny would like specimens of Antarctic Pediculi.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [25 July–29 Aug 1844]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 15
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-768

To C. G. Ehrenberg   4 July [1844]


Astonished that dust sample contains Infusoria. Thinks dust is volcanic. Will write account of falling dust [see 775]. Offers further samples.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Christian Gottfried Ehrenberg
Date:  4 July [1844]
Classmark:  Museum für Naturkunde Berlin (MfN/HBSB, N005 NL Christian Gottfried Ehrenberg Nr. 43)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-760

From C. G. Ehrenberg   11 July 1844


Thanks for shipments of earth samples. Sends copy of article describing Infusoria in samples ["Einige vorläufige Resultate … über das Verhalten des kleinsten Lebens in den Oceanen", Ber. k. Preuss. Akad. Wiss. Berlin (1844): 182–207]. Asks for more information and samples, especially from the soundings of Ross’s expedition.

Author:  Christian Gottfried Ehrenberg
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 July 1844
Classmark:  DAR 163: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-762

To Josiah Wedgwood III and E. A. Darwin   25 July 1844


Requests to JW III and EAD as trustees of the marriage-settlement, to make some funds available.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Josiah Wedgwood, III; Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Date:  25 July 1844
Classmark:  V&A / Wedgwood Collection (MS W/M 1012)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-766

To Emma Darwin   5 July 1844


Asks that in the event of his death, Emma should have the sketch of his species theory edited and published. Suggests possible editors, among them Lyell, Edward Forbes, and J. D. Hooker. [CD annotation on cover: "Hooker by far best man to edit my species volume Aug 1854".]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  5 July 1844
Classmark:  Natural History Museum (General Special Collections MSS DAR A4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-761
Document type
letter (11)
01 (1)
04 (1)
05 (1)
11 (1)
14 (1)
22 (1)
25 (3)
27 (1)
30 (1)