skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1838::02 in date [X]
7 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

Questions for Mr Wynne   [February–July 1838]

thumbnail

Summary

Questions on breeding and habits.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  [–] Wynne
Date:  [Feb–July 1838]
Classmark:  DAR 206: 42
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-399

To John Gould   [February 1838]

Summary

The publishers [of Zoology] have agreed to 50 plates [for Birds]. Asks JG to decide which are most worthy of being done. Also asks him to see whether Bayfield will undertake [to colour] the birds (and quadrupeds) at something under 5d each.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Gould
Date:  [Feb 1838]
Classmark:  William Patrick Watson (dealer) (April 2014)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-401

To A. Y. Spearman   16 February 1838

Summary

Encloses the account of Smith, Elder & Co. for the first part of "The Zoology of the Voyage of H.M.S. Beagle" [Fossil Mammalia].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Young Spearman
Date:  16 Feb 1838
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-402A

From John George Children    21 February 1838

Summary

In view of the charges directed by Edward Blyth against George R. Gray for gross incivility and discourtesy in discharging his duties as assistant in the zoological department at the British Museum, CD is asked by the Trustees to comment upon his own experience with Gray and to offer his judgment of these charges.

Author:  John George Children
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 Feb 1838
Classmark:  Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (Archives DF ZOO/205/1/74)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-402B

From A. Y. Spearman   23 February 1838

Summary

Payment of the Smith, Elder & Co. account has been ordered, amounting to the sum of £68.10.10 for the first part of the Zoology.

Author:  Alexander Young Spearman
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Feb 1838
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (Treasury out–letter book T 27/137 p. 443)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-402C

To John George Children   22 February [1838]

Summary

Testifies to the courtesy and helpfulness of George Gray [assistant at the British Museum]. [See 402b.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John George Children
Date:  22 Feb [1838]
Classmark:  British Museum (Officers’ Reports 20 (1838): 5314)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-402F

From Robert FitzRoy   26 February 1838

Summary

His work [on vol. 2 of Narrative] is going slowly.

Has no objection to anything in CD’s excellent volume. CD should "entertain no further scruple on that subject".

Author:  Robert FitzRoy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Feb 1838
Classmark:  DAR 204: 145
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-403
Document type
letter (7)
Correspondent
Date
1838
02
01 (2)
16 (1)
21 (1)
22 (1)
23 (1)
26 (1)
letter