skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1828::10 in date [X]
5 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To W. D. Fox    [29 October 1828]

Summary

Has met Frederick William Hope, the entomologist; relates F. W. Hope’s praise of CD’s collection and his generous offer of assistance.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  [29 Oct 1828]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-52

To W. D. Fox   [October 1828]

Summary

Sends some stuffed birds for "Osmaston Museum" and some insects.

Home having cloyed, plans to go to Woodhouse to visit the Owens and the black-eyed houris [Sarah and Fanny] there.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  [Oct 1828]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-48

To J. M. Herbert    [3 October 1828]

Summary

CD obliged for JMH’s labours in "the science". He reports having spent a pleasant month. Entomological pursuits succeeded.

Looks forward to receiving beetles and butterflies from JMH when he passes through Shrewsbury.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Maurice Herbert
Date:  [3 Oct 1828]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-49

To the Darwin Family    3 October 1828

Summary

[Caroline Darwin on behalf of CD] submits a petition to Darwin family for £20 to purchase a new double-barrelled gun, CD’s present one having become dangerous.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Darwin family
Date:  3 Oct 1828
Classmark:  L
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-50

From Fanny Owen    [26 October 1828]

Summary

Woodhouse news, including going to a play.

She has been spending much time painting.

Author:  Frances (Fanny) Mostyn Owen; Frances (Fanny) Myddelton Biddulph
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [26 Oct 1828]
Classmark:  AL
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-51
Document type
letter (5)
Date
1828
10
01 (1)
03 (2)
26 (1)
29 (1)
letter