skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
Ball, John in correspondent [X]
5 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To John Ball   26 June 1874


Thanks for letter. CD’s nephew got into the club. The book about the beaver is probably that by Mr Morgan. Does not intend to publish further on the intelligence of the dog.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Ball
Date:  26 June 1874
Classmark:  DAR 258: 547
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9517G

From John Ball   8 August 1879


Hopes CD will read and comment on his lecture ["Origin of flora of the Alps", Proc. R. Geogr. Soc. (1879)]. Disgrees with CD; JB maintains that the high antiquity of existing plant genera and families explains wide differences in their distribution.

Author:  John Ball
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Aug 1879
Classmark:  DAR 160: 35
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12187

From John Ball   28 November 1879


Thanks CD for noticing some difficulties in his hypothesis. Concedes that there is no proof that higher plants are more intolerant of carbon dioxide than lower plants. Argues that the main difference between the lowlands and the high mountains in Palaeozoic times would be the much greater climatic fluctuations that would occur on the mountains. Discusses carbon dioxide diffusion in the Palaeozoic atmosphere. Thinks that the large number of species and genera peculiar to high mountains favours the assumption that "their diffusion must date from a geologically remote period" [see ML 2: 20–2].

Author:  John Ball
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Nov 1879
Classmark:  DAR 160: 36
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12335

From John Ball   31 January [1872]



Expands on a letter to Nature concerning the probability of the survival of a new variety in a given species. Differs with [F. Jenkin’s] argument, to which CD had agreed to a greater extent than JB feels it deserved.

Author:  John Ball
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Jan [1872]
Classmark:  DAR 47: 196–201
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8190

From John Ball   25 June [1874]


Received CD’s note late and so could not comply, but promises to vote in future for anyone CD recommends for Athenaeum.

Will have new evidence on dog’s intelligence sent to CD.

Author:  John Ball
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 June [1874]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 34
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9512
Document type
letter (5)
Ball, John[X]
Darwin, C. R.[X]
1872 (1)
1874 (2)
1879 (2)