skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
1880::01 in date [X]
36 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To Athenæum   24 January 1880

Summary

[Draft letter that was never sent, headed "First letter disapproved by everybody" in CD’s hand.] Explains that he had, in fact, mentioned in the MS of his part of Erasmus Darwin that Krause had added to his essay as it appeared in Kosmos. During subsequent revision, this mention was accidentally omitted. [Apropos of S. Butler’s charges against CD.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Athenæum
Date:  24 Jan 1880
Classmark:  DAR 92: B98–B101
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12439

To Maria   [1880–2]

Summary

Regrets he has not time to develop points touched on in her letter and that he does not understand what information she wants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Maria
Date:  [1880–2]
Classmark:  DAR 201: 24v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12386

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   27 January [1880]

Summary

Asa Gray wants seeds of a variety of cotton known as vine cotton.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  27 Jan 1880
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 203–4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12440

To G. H. Darwin   29 January [1880]

Summary

Sorry to hear of his illness.

On his visit to J. F. McLennan, GHD might tell him that CD thinks A. R. Wallace would work up McLennan’s materials conscientiously.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  29 Jan [1880]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 90
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12441

To Hermann Welcker   30 January 1880

Summary

Thanks for letter of 18th January 1880 and for present of Essays. Interested in Welcker’s investigation of the 'ligamentum teres', and his comment on the feet of the Chinese.

Will esteem it an honour if Welcker dedicates his next book to him.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hermann Welcker
Date:  30 Jan 1880
Classmark:  Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg, Universitätsarchiv (Rep. 29, Nr. 715)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12442G

To J.-H. Fabre   31 January 1880

Summary

Comments on JHF’s book [Souvenirs entomologiques (1879)].

Discusses story told by Erasmus Darwin about a wasp cutting off wings of fly.

Sorry JHF is opposed to descent theory.

Suggests experiment concerning insects’ sense of direction.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean-Henri Casimir (Jean-Henri) Fabre
Date:  31 Jan 1880
Classmark:  DAR 144: 14; Muséum national d’histoire naturelle, Bibliothèque centrale, Paris (Ms FAB 32)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12443

To C. E. Ferguson   12 January 1880

Summary

Suggests CEF read Ernst Haeckel’s Evolution of man [1879] and Descent.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Eugene Ferguson
Date:  12 Jan 1880
Classmark:  Indiana University, The Lilly Library (Ferguson MSS.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12630

To George Rolleston   [1860–82]

Summary

Envelope only, addressed to Professor Rolleston in Oxford.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Rolleston
Date:  [1860–82]
Classmark:  John Wilson (dealer) (Catalogue 76)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13891F

To Horace Darwin   1 January 1880

thumbnail

Summary

Arrangements regarding HD’s allowances.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Horace Darwin
Date:  1 Jan 1880
Classmark:  DAR 185: 6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12392

To Samuel Butler   3 January 1880

Summary

Krause altered the MS [of his essay on Erasmus Darwin] considerably before sending it to be translated. This is a common practice, but CD now regrets he did not state in his preface that the article had been modified. The translation had been arranged before SB’s book [Evolution, old and new] was announced.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Samuel Butler
Date:  3 Jan 1880
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 34486 D ff. 84–5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12396

To Joseph Prestwich   3 January 1880

Summary

JP is right; CD gave up [Glen Roy theory] when he read T. F. Jamieson ["On the parallel roads of Glen Roy", Q. J. Geol. Soc. Lond. 19 (1863): 235–58].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Prestwich
Date:  3 Jan 1880
Classmark:  DAR 147: 253
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12397

To B. J. Sulivan   3 January 1880

Summary

Returns BJS’s Christmas good wishes.

The progress of Tierra del Fuego is almost as wonderful as that of Japan.

Is sorry to hear about Mellersh.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Bartholomew James Sulivan
Date:  3 Jan 1880
Classmark:  DAR 147: 515
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12399

To Ercole Ricotti   4 January 1880

Summary

Thanks for awarding him the Bressa prize. Has sent an order to receive the 12,000 lira.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ercole Ricotti
Date:  4 Jan 1880
Classmark:  www.ornithomedia.com/magazine/art_mag441_alberto_masi.pdf (accessed 1 December 2011)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12399F

To A. R. Wallace   5 January 1880

Summary

Admiration of ARW’s ["The origin of species and genera", Nineteenth Century (Jan 1880)]. Good use of Allen’s "admirable researches".

Disappointment about the Epping Forest appointment.

Farrer’s article in Fortnightly Review.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  5 Jan 1880
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 46434 ff. 286–8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12401

To Adolf Ernst   5 January 1880

Summary

Has read AE’s paper in Nature [21 (1880): 217] on Melochia, a new family of heterostyled plants, and suggests some crosses to be carried out to determine the fertility of illegitimate seedlings.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Adolf Ernst
Date:  5 Jan 1880
Classmark:  State Darwin Museum, Moscow (GDM KP OF 8972)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12402

To Ernst Krause   5 January 1880

Summary

The reviews of Erasmus Darwin are mainly favourable.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Ludwig (Ernst) Krause
Date:  5 Jan 1880
Classmark:  The Huntington Library (HM 36198)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12403

To Vincent, Teja & Co   5 January 1880

Summary

Requests that they receive, on his behalf, an award of 12000 lira [lire!?] from the Royal Academy of Sciences of Turin, and transmit it to the Union Bank, London.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Vincent, Teja & Co.
Date:  5 Jan 1880
Classmark:  DAR 202: 68
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12405

To C. H. Tindal   5 January 1880

thumbnail

Summary

Thanks for the information about Dr Erasmus Darwin and his parents.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Harrison Tindal
Date:  5 Jan 1880
Classmark:  DAR 185: 118
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12405F

To J.-H. Fabre   6 January 1880

Summary

Thanks JHF for copy of his Souvenirs entomologiques [1879].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean-Henri Casimir (Jean-Henri) Fabre
Date:  6 Jan 1880
Classmark:  Muséum national d’histoire naturelle, Bibliothèque centrale, Paris (Ms FAB 32)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12406

To William Cole   6 January 1880

Summary

Regrets he is unwilling to join [Epping Forest Field Club], but encloses a guinea to aid with their preliminary expenses.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Cole
Date:  6 Jan 1880
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Medicine and Technology Archives (Essex Naturalists Field Club MLDA/9)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12407
Document type
letter (36)
Author
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1880
01
01 (3)
03 (3)
04 (1)
05 (5)
06 (3)
08 (2)
10 (1)
11 (1)
12 (2)
13 (1)
14 (1)
15 (2)
17 (1)
18 (1)
19 (2)
20 (1)
21 (1)
24 (1)
27 (1)
29 (1)
30 (1)
31 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next
letter