skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
1871 in date [X]
362 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To ?   20 November [1871]


Asks for some pamphlets, the titles of which have been sent to him by Dr Spengel [see 8053].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  20 Nov [1871]
Classmark:  Sotheby’s (dealers) (9 April 1963)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8076

To an editor   12 October [1871]


Sends photograph of himself for a proposed memoir in correspondent’s Review.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Editor
Date:  12 Oct [1871]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8003

To Nature   [before 27 April 1871]


Replies to Francis Galton’s paper on tranfusing blood between rabbits to test Pangenesis [Proc. R. Soc. Lond. 19 (1871): 393–40]. FG’s conclusion that his experiments prove Pangenesis to be false is "a little hasty", since CD had never maintained that gemmules in the blood formed any part of his hypothesis.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  [before 27 Apr 1871]
Classmark:  Nature, 27 April 1871, pp. 502–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7720

To ?   10 May [1871]


Thanks correspondent for item of criticism in a foreign newspaper.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  10 May [1871]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.396)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7747

To ?   28 June [1871]


Thanks for the photographs.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  28 June [1871]
Classmark:  DAR 249: 123
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7836F

To ?   1 July 1871


Regrets ill health will prevent his attending the BAAS meeting at Edinburgh.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  1 July 1871
Classmark:  Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7844

To Nature   1 July [1871]


Refers H. H. Howorth, the writer of "A new view of Darwinism" [Nature 4 (1871): 161–2], to Variation for a discussion of fertility and sterility of organisms in relation to increased food and other factors.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  1 July [1871]
Classmark:  Nature, 6 July 1871, pp. 180–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7846

To ?   25 February [1871]


Thanks for two reviews of Descent. Second is "most fair, kind and carefully abstracted".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  25 Feb [1871]
Classmark:  The New York Public Library. Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations. Manuscripts and Archives Division. (Miscellaneous papers)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7513

To ?   27 September [1871–81]


Thanks for a book. "I am so much overworked at present that I cannot read it now, & I am a very poor German scholar".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  27 Sept [1871-81]
Classmark:  David Schulson (dealer) (August 2005)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13886

To ?   18 November [1871–81]


"With Mr. Charles Darwin’s compliments enclosing one guinea."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  18 Nov [1871–81]
Classmark:  Swann Auction Galleries (dealers) (14 September 1993)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13887

To ?   19 May [1871]


Thanks for references about dogs. Fears work will not allow him to deal with subject again. Heartily subscribes to what correspondent says about qualities of dogs. Loves his "with all my heart".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  19 May [1871]
Classmark:  Paul C. Richards (dealer) (Catalogue 109)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13889

To ?   7 April [1871]


Asks correspondent to thank Thomas Laycock for his references. CD has been away from home and has not yet consulted his copy of Laycock’s Mind and brain [1860].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  7 Apr [1871]
Classmark:  R. M. Smythe (dealer) (November 1998)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6102A

To [M. R. Pryor?]   [after 21 January 1871?]


Suggests Mivart should have read account of Niata Cattle.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Marlborough Robert Pryor
Date:  [after 21 Jan 1871?]
Classmark:  Sotheby’s (dealers) (15 December 2011)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8209F

To James Crichton-Browne   26 March [1871]


Has sent photographs of insane woman to be engraved. Assumes JC-B has no objection.

Is making immense use of JC-B’s MS. The book ought to be described as "by Darwin & Browne".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Crichton-Browne
Date:  26 Mar [1871]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 341
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8253

To A. W. Bennett   [before 16 November 1871]


Discussed observations made in 1863 of Impatiens pollen and humble-bees.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred William Bennett
Date:  [before 16 Nov 1871]
Classmark:  Journal of the Linnean Society (Botany) 13 (1873): 152
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8303F

To W. E. Darwin   20 [January or February 1871?]


Asks WED’s help in acquiring expression photographs and engravings.

Wishes to send Langstaff a copy of his book [Expression], in gratitude for his valuable notes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  20 [Jan or Feb] 1871
Classmark:  Natural History Museum (General Special Collections MSS DAR 32)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8529

To W. B. Tegetmeier   4 July [1871]


Thanks for gift of WBT’s book [Pheasants for coverts and aviaries (1873)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  4 July [1871]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8963

To M. C. Stanley   [18 November 1871]


Much perplexed by W. Crookes’s article. He can neither disbelieve nor believe. Article has removed some of his difficulty in that the supposed power is not an anomaly. Hopes men such as G. G. Stokes will be induced to witness Crookes’s experiments.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Mary Catherine Stanley, countess of Derby
Date:  [18 Nov 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 384
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9209

To John Murray   [1 March 1871]


Discusses new edition of Descent.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  [1 Mar 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 437
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9237

To [W. W. Baxter?]   [early July 1871]


Orders nitrate of ammonia for experiment on plants.

Are measuring glasses accurate?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Walmisley Baxter
Date:  [early July 1871]
Classmark:  The New York Public Library. Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations. The Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature.
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9524
Document type
letter (362)
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Darwin, Emma (1)
Wedgwood, Emma (1)
01 (29)
02 (20)
03 (63)
04 (40)
05 (25)
06 (24)
07 (29)
08 (14)
09 (30)
10 (28)
11 (32)
12 (28)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next