skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
1870 in date [X]
162 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To ?   28 December [1870]


Regrets that Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen has already translated his new book into Dutch.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  28 Dec [1870]
Classmark:  Christie’s (dealers) (23 November 2009)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7402F

To ?   14 June [1870]


When CD comes to London in ten days, he will "immediately call on you and explain why I cannot at once answer your question".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  14 June [1870]
Classmark:  DAR 221.5: 43 (photocopy)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7233

To ?   23 March [1870–1]


Declines offer of book on physics.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  23 Mar [1870-1]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7147

To?   [1870–82]


Printed acknowledgment of the receipt of a letter.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [1870–82]
Classmark:  DAR 133: 1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13859

To ?   23 August [1870–80]


Discusses evolution of species.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  23 Aug [1870-80]
Classmark:  Charles Hamilton (dealer) (3 November 1966)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13884

To ?   [1870–82]


Query [possibly for publication] on ridges and furrows in pasture-land that had been ploughed long ago. Gives directions for measuring ridges on sloping land.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [1870–82]
Classmark:  DAR 63: 87
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13885

To ?   12 February [1870–82]


Send information about the bust of himself by Thomas Woolner and suggests applying to the sculptor himself about a cast.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  12 Feb [1870-82]
Classmark:  Erbengemeinschaft Alberts (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6611F

To ?   17 November [1870]


CD has already agreed that Julius Victor Carus will translate his next book.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  17 Nov [1870]
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Autogr. Darwin, Charles Robert, Bl. 3–4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6993F

To P. L. Sclater   5 December 1870


Is sending by this post three sheets and will send another tomorrow thus almost completing the part on birds. His congratulations and thanks for PLS’s labours with them.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Philip Lutley Sclater
Date:  5 Dec 1870
Classmark:  Dr W. N. Livingstone (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7387F

To Asa Gray   7 December 1870


Believes AG’s cases of incipient dimorphism are due to mere variability. Has found examples in Nolana and Amsinckia; believes such variation is the basis for the development of dimorphism. Was unaware of variations in Phlox.

Sensitivity of Drosera and Dionaea.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  7 Dec 1870
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (90)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7388

To L.-G. De Koninck   [after 19 December 1870]


Thanks LGK for the part he played in getting CD elected as an Associate [of Royal Belgian Academy of Sciences].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Laurent-Guillaume De Koninck
Date:  [after 19 Dec 1870]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 83
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7392

To William Ogle   17 December [1870]


Thanks WO for valuable letter. Feels he need not trouble any more about platysma. If WO ever sees someone suffering great fear, CD asks him to observe the neck.

Hopes to visit WO when next in London.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Ogle
Date:  17 Dec [1870]
Classmark:  DAR 261.5: 5 (EH 88205903)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7394

To B. J. Sulivan   20 December [1870]


Thanks BJS for his congratulations [on Leonard Darwin’s success].

CD is "as usual, always ailing and grumbling".

Expects his new book [Descent] to "disgust you & many others".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Bartholomew James Sulivan
Date:  20 Dec [1870]
Classmark:  Sulivan family (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7400

To Charles Lyell   25 December [1870]


Thanks CL for his book [The student’s elements of geology (1871)].

Is correcting proofs [of Descent].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  25 Dec [1870]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.386)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7401

To P. L. Sclater   26 December [1870]


Sending two sheets [of Descent]. About one-and-a-half more will complete PLS’s task.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Philip Lutley Sclater
Date:  26 Dec [1870]
Classmark:  Zoological Society of London (GB 0814 BADD (Darwin))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7402

To P. L. Sclater   29 December [1870]


CD is obliged for PLS’s correction [of Descent proofs]. Will add a caption to the woodcut [of the wart-hog] since it is too late to make a new one.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Philip Lutley Sclater
Date:  29 Dec [1870]
Classmark:  Zoological Society of London (GB 0814 BADD (Darwin))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7403

To St G. J. Mivart   21 April [1870]


On amount of modification and lines of descent in determining the position in man.

Reference to StGJM’s article "On the appendicular skeleton of the primates" Phil. Trans. R. Soc. [157 (1867): 299–430],

and his [and James Murie’s] article on lemurs ["On the anatomy of Lemuroidea"] Trans. Zool. Soc. [7 (1872): 1–114].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  St George Jackson Mivart
Date:  21 Apr [1870]
Classmark:  Karpeles Manuscript Library Museums
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7718A

To H. W. Bates   [22 May 1870]


Explains why he has declined writing a review for Messrs Appleton.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Walter Bates
Date:  [22 May 1870]
Classmark:  The British Library (Surrogate RP 8018/1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7765F

To District Health Office   [1870–82]


Gives opinion on the merits of Mr [Stephen P. J.] Eng[leheart (Darwin family doctor)]. Believes he would make an excellent county officer if elected to the district office of health.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  District Health Office
Date:  [1870–82]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 165
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8704

To Ernst Haeckel   23 June [1870]


Comments on new edition of EH’s book [Natürliche Schöpfungsgeschichte, 2d ed. (1870)].

Mentions his own book [Descent].

Visit by Kölliker.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Date:  23 June [1870]
Classmark:  Ernst-Haeckel-Haus (Bestand A-Abt. 1: 1–52/24)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7241
Document type
letter (162)
Darwin, C. R.[X]
01 (15)
02 (13)
03 (14)
04 (9)
05 (15)
06 (21)
07 (18)
08 (13)
09 (7)
10 (10)
11 (16)
12 (11)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next