skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
1862 in date [X]
248 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To Pickard & Stoneman   1 December [1862]

Summary

Asks for information about cases for stove-plants. [Answers recorded in another hand.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  1 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.283)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3839

To Ladies   24 February [1862–9]

Summary

Thanks for their kind feelings towards him.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  24 Feb [1862-9]
Classmark:  R. M. Smythe & Co., New York
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5418F

To ?   21 August [1862]

Summary

Thanks for monstrous floral specimen, but it is a common one.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  21 Aug [1862]
Classmark:  Lawrences Auctioneers, Crewkerne, Somerset, 2009
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3693F

To ?   11 March [1862–9]

Summary

Gives permission to insert in his magazine anything from CD’s works.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  11 Mar [1862-9]
Classmark:  Karpeles Manuscript Library Museums
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13877F

To ?   29 March [1862–9]

Summary

Declines, regretfully, to contribute to or to have his name appear on a new magazine.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  29 Mar [1862-9]
Classmark:  Wellcome Collection (MS.7781/1–32 item 8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13878

To John Scott   11 December [1862]

Summary

Criticises style of JS’s fern paper [Edinburgh New Philos. J. 2d ser. 16 (1862): 209–27].

JS’s remark on "the two sexes counteracting variability in the product of the one" is new to CD.

Does the female [fern?] plant always produce female by parthenogenesis?

They seem to work on same subjects; CD has much material on Drosera.

Does not understand JS’s objections to natural selection.

Offers to suggest experiments.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  11 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 93: B37, B49–52
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3853

To William Forsell Kirby   12 December [1862]

Summary

CD sends thanks for Manual of European butterflies [1862].

Is pleased that WFK does not believe in immutability of species, "a doctrine perfectly adapted to stop philosophical research", and hopes he will publish further.

Notes WFK’s name is the same as the entomologist’s.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Forsell Kirby
Date:  12 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3854

To J. D. Hooker   12 [December 1862]

thumbnail

Summary

Maintains his view on crossing. Thinks practical breeders would agree with him; doubts that variability and domestication are at all necessarily correlative.

Identical plants in different conditions a heavy argument against "direct action" [of physical conditions].

His 1000-pigeon case is altered if long-beaked are in least degree sterile with short-beaked.

His work on dimorphism inclines him to believe that sterility is at first a selected quality to keep incipient species distinct.

Case of easy modification of Lythrum pollen to favour or prevent crossing.

Monsters.

Has just finished chapter on variations of cultivated plants.

Edinburgh doctors have sent him Diploma of Medical Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  12 [Dec 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 176
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3855

To A. C. Ramsay   14 December [1862]

Summary

Thanks ACR for Catalogue; pleased some of his volcanic specimens have been included.

Will review T. F. Jamieson’s paper on Glen Roy. Knows the facts and knows too well that he [CD] is everlastingly smashed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Andrew Crombie Ramsay
Date:  14 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 261.9: 5 (EH 88205978)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3860

To H. W. Bates   15 December [1862]

Summary

Thanks for paper and references on variations [missing].

Regrets HWB’s trouble about artists, etc., saying such trouble is a law of nature.

Asks whether HWB has heard of starving Indians who are forced to cook in different ways, and eat new things.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Walter Bates
Date:  15 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3861

To John Lubbock   16 [December 1862]

Summary

H. W. Bates’s paper; CD will review it. ["Mimetic butterflies" (1863), Collected papers 2: 87–92.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  16 [Dec 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 263
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3864

To T. H. Huxley   18 December [1862]

Summary

Enthusiastic about Lectures IV and V [Lectures to working men (1863)].

Sends specific comments on fantail pigeon,

sterility of hybrids,

the geological section diagram.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  18 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 186)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3866

To John Scott   19 December [1862]

Summary

JS should be proud of his paper ["Nature of the fern-spore", Edinburgh New. Philos. J. 2d ser. 16 (1862): 209–27].

CD has just found that JS’s observations on the confluence of two sexes causing variability were independently confirmed by Huxley.

CD has always suspected a fundamental difference between buds and ovules.

Asks for examples of "bud-variation" or "sports".

Asks JS to test germination of pollen on rostellum of Laelia.

Offers JS money for experimental supplies, e.g., netting, to keep insects out of flowers.

Encloses an outline of crossing experiments with Lythraceae, Primula, Pelargonium, and others, which he feels would be valuable.

Note on melastomids.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  19 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 93: B35–6, B64–5, B80
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3868

To W. B. Tegetmeier   28 [December 1862]

Summary

Can WBT help get an answer to a query on ducks?

Has heard of a case of special sterility in cattle, in which a particular pair are sterile, but the individuals are both fertile with others.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  28 [Dec 1862]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3869

To George William Johnson or Robert Hogg   20 December [1862]

Summary

Thanks correspondent for sending him a strawberry hybrid.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George William Johnson
Date:  20 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  C. H. Hughes-Johnson (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3870

To J. D. Hooker   [21 December 1862]

thumbnail

Summary

Thanks for Begonia and Oxalis.

Keeps obstinate about crossing and could argue till doomsday, but will not bother JDH.

Sees that JDH has finished Welwitschia.

Thinks Huxley’s Working Men’s Lectures excellent.

Has finished Linum paper [Collected papers 2: 93–105],

and abstract of Bates’s paper for Natural History Review,

and has begun to arrange concluding chapters [for Variation]. Is paralysed on how to begin.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [21 Dec 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 174
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3871

To J. B. Innes   22 December [1862]

Summary

Family and local news.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Brodie Innes
Date:  22 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3872

To Thomas Rivers   23 December [1862]

Summary

CD is collecting [for Variation] all accounts of what some call "sports" and what he calls "bud-variations". He asks whether very slight variations in fruit appear suddenly by buds, or whether only rather strongly marked varieties thus appear.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Rivers
Date:  23 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  Sotheby’s (dealers) (23–4 July 1987)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3874

To James Anderson   23 December [1862]

Summary

Has heard from Asa Gray [see 3850] that JA is bringing live plants over for CD. Gives address for forwarding box to Down.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Anderson
Date:  23 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  Autographia (dealers) San Rafael, California
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3874A

To J. D. Hooker   24 December [1862]

thumbnail

Summary

Thanks for Dawson’s letter. Doubts his evidence that climate of land was not glacial when upheaved after submergence.

Encloses memorandum of questions for C. V. Naudin.

Expression of the emotions.

Is building a hothouse for plant experimenting.

JDH’s ideas on America are more atrocious than his. What a new idea that struggle for existence is necessary to try to purge a government! Probably true. Slavery draws him one way one day, another the next. Yankees are "detestable toward us". Tocqueville.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  24 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 177
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3875
Document type
letter (248)
Author
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Correspondent
Date
1862
01 (19)
02 (20)
03 (16)
04 (16)
05 (20)
06 (27)
07 (24)
08 (13)
09 (20)
10 (21)
11 (23)
12 (29)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter