skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
1842 in date [X]
50 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3  Next

To William Yarrell   [5 or 12 September 1842]

Summary

CD is too dull and languid to see Mr Bicheno but will be glad to answer his questions if he writes.

Asks WY to ask J. Sebright "whether the cross with white bantam brought back any of the ""secondary male characters"" to the hen–cock breed".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Yarrell
Date:  [5 or 12] Sept 1842
Classmark:  Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand (MS-Papers-1256-2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-613

To Charles Stokes    [January–March 1842]

thumbnail

Summary

Returns snuff box.

Sends a microscope for repair.

Makes appointment to discuss some corals that he is sending.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Stokes
Date:  [Jan–Mar 1842]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 91
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-613A

To J. S. Henslow   [26 January 1842]

Summary

CD relates that Robert Brown is anxious to have [C. M.] Leman[n] elected librarian of the Linnean Society and urges JSH to come to vote for him. CD joins in the request.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [26 Jan 1842]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-615

To the Geological Society of London   31 January [1842]

Summary

Hopes to meet with museum committee after 11 o’clock next day.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Geological Society of London
Date:  31 Jan [1842]
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/L/R/7/25)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-616

To J. F. Royle   [2 February 1842]

Summary

Asks JFR to support E. A. Darwin’s election to the Athenaeum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Forbes Royle
Date:  [2 Feb 1842]
Classmark:  University of Rochester Library, Department of Rare Books and Special Collections
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-617

To Francis Boott   [3 February 1842]

Summary

"My Dear Sir, I have called on you, to solicit your vote & interest at the Athenaeum Club […] in favour of my brother, Erasmus Darwin".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Boott
Date:  [3 Feb 1842]
Classmark:  Christie’s (dealers) (13 December 2006, lot 34)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-617F

To Richard Owen   [4 February 1842]

Summary

Informs Owen of the fossil finds of F. J. Muñiz in south America.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [4 Feb 1842]
Classmark:  Enns Entomology Museum, University of Missouri
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-617G

To Henry Thomas De la Beche   7 February 1842

Summary

Asks De la Beche about variation among domesticated animals in Jamaica.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Thomas De la Beche
Date:  7 Feb 1842
Classmark:  National Museum of Wales, Department of Natural Sciences (De la Beche)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-618

To Hugh Edwin Strickland   17 February [1842]

Summary

CD approves of HES’s "laws" [of nomenclature]. Regrets that [J. E.?] Gray does not approve of the scheme. CD has sent the paper to William Ogilby and suggests that HES send it to G. R. Waterhouse, of whom he has a high opinion.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Edwin Strickland
Date:  17 Feb [1842]
Classmark:  Museum of Zoology Archives, University of Cambridge (Strickland Papers)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-619

To H. E. Strickland   [19 February 1842]

Summary

CD saw Andrew Smith, who is interested in the subject [of zoological nomenclature], but CD thinks he differs from HES on some points. Sends Smith’s address.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Edwin Strickland
Date:  [19 Feb 1842]
Classmark:  Museum of Zoology Archives, University of Cambridge (Strickland Papers)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-620

To Susan Darwin   [22 February 1842]

thumbnail

Summary

Comments on birth [of Catherine Elizabeth Sophia Wedgwood].

Plans to visit Shrewsbury.

Describes behaviour of William Darwin.

Discusses speculation losses of acquaintances, including T. Carlyle’s. Mentions his own loss on Journal of researches.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Date:  [22 Feb 1842]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-621

To W. D. Fox   23 March [1842]

Summary

Letter of condolence on the death of WDF’s wife [Harriet Fletcher Fox].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  23 Mar [1842]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 57)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-624

To W. D. Fox   [31 March 1842]

Summary

Second letter of condolence, following burial of Mrs Fox.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  [31 Mar 1842]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 56)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-625

To A. Y. Spearman   29 April 1842

Summary

The fourth number of part four is now published; the Smith, Elder & Co. account is presented.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Young Spearman
Date:  29 Apr 1842
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4723 paper 15949)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-625A

To Mary-Anne Herbert   [5 May 1842]

Summary

Acknowledges Mrs H’s disappointing answer to his quest for a house in the country. Five miles from a railway station is "the length of my tether".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Mary Anne Herbert
Date:  [5 May 1842]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-628

To ?   [1842–82]

Summary

Will be glad to see recipient and Mr Morris at Down the following day.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Wickham Flower
Date:  [1842–82]
Classmark:  eBay (April 2001)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13867G

To Emma Darwin   [9 May 1842]

Summary

Is "stomachy and be-blue-devilled" because of costs of publishing [Zoology and Coral reefs]. Wonders how the remainder [of the Zoology and Geology of "Beagle"] can be published without taking £200 or £300 out of their personal funds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [9 May 1842]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-626

To Leonard Jenyns   [May–September 1842]

Summary

Glad to hear that LJ will repeat his notes to Gilbert White’s [Natural history of] Selborne [1843] in a separate work.

Critical of G. R. Gray’s attaching his own name to Furnarius cunicularius [in Birds, pp. 65–6]. Strickland’s nomenclature laws are needed to check egoism.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leonard Jenyns; Leonard Blomefield
Date:  [May–Sept 1842]
Classmark:  Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-627

To Leonard Jenyns   [9 May 1842]

Summary

Is sending fish skins and bottles off to Cambridge Philosophical Society.

Fish numbers [of Zoology], now finished, give CD satisfaction when he doubts whether he ought to have applied for Government money.

Wishes Thomas Bell would finish his part [Reptiles].

CD has just corrected last page of index of Coral reefs.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leonard Jenyns; Leonard Blomefield
Date:  [9 May 1842]
Classmark:  Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-629

To Catherine Darwin   [16 September 1842]

Summary

Emma and Doddy [W. E. Darwin] like Down. CD has met, and plans to employ, the local surgeon. "I feel sure I shall become deeply attached to Down, with a few improvements".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Date:  [16 Sept 1842]
Classmark:  DAR 153: 6 (EH 88202298)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-633
Document type
letter (50)
Author
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1842
01 (7)
02 (7)
03 (4)
04 (1)
05 (6)
06 (1)
07 (2)
08 (3)
09 (5)
10 (8)
11 (3)
12 (3)
Page: Prev  1 2 3  Next
letter