skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
1842 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
50 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To ?   [1842–82]

Summary

Will be glad to see recipient and Mr Morris at Down the following day.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Wickham Flower
Date:  [1842–82]
Classmark:  eBay (April 2001)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13867G

To John Price    29 November [1842–55]

Summary

Not able to assist JP as he knows no schoolmaster in the area.

Cannot answer zoological question but thinks the two Serpulae are distinct.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Price
Date:  29 Nov [1842-55]
Classmark:  University of California, Berkeley, The Bancroft Library (BANC MSS 74/78 z)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1786

To Charles Lyell   [September–December 1842]

Summary

Discusses relationship of subsidence to the formation of coral reefs.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [Sept–Dec 1842]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.30)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-605

To William Yarrell   [5 or 12 September 1842]

Summary

CD is too dull and languid to see Mr Bicheno but will be glad to answer his questions if he writes.

Asks WY to ask J. Sebright "whether the cross with white bantam brought back any of the ""secondary male characters"" to the hen–cock breed".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Yarrell
Date:  [5 or 12] Sept 1842
Classmark:  Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand (MS-Papers-1256-2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-613

To Charles Stokes    [January–March 1842]

thumbnail

Summary

Returns snuff box.

Sends a microscope for repair.

Makes appointment to discuss some corals that he is sending.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Stokes
Date:  [Jan–Mar 1842]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 91
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-613A

To J. S. Henslow   [26 January 1842]

Summary

CD relates that Robert Brown is anxious to have [C. M.] Leman[n] elected librarian of the Linnean Society and urges JSH to come to vote for him. CD joins in the request.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [26 Jan 1842]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-615

To the Geological Society of London   31 January [1842]

Summary

Hopes to meet with museum committee after 11 o’clock next day.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Geological Society of London
Date:  31 Jan [1842]
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/L/R/7/25)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-616

To J. F. Royle   [2 February 1842]

Summary

Asks JFR to support E. A. Darwin’s election to the Athenaeum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Forbes Royle
Date:  [2 Feb 1842]
Classmark:  University of Rochester Library, Department of Rare Books and Special Collections
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-617

To Francis Boott   [3 February 1842]

Summary

"My Dear Sir, I have called on you, to solicit your vote & interest at the Athenaeum Club […] in favour of my brother, Erasmus Darwin".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Boott
Date:  [3 Feb 1842]
Classmark:  Christie’s (dealers) (13 December 2006, lot 34)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-617F

To Richard Owen   [4 February 1842]

Summary

Informs Owen of the fossil finds of F. J. Muñiz in south America.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [4 Feb 1842]
Classmark:  Enns Entomology Museum, University of Missouri
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-617G

To Henry Thomas De la Beche   7 February 1842

Summary

Asks De la Beche about variation among domesticated animals in Jamaica.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Thomas De la Beche
Date:  7 Feb 1842
Classmark:  National Museum of Wales, Department of Natural Sciences (De la Beche)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-618

To Hugh Edwin Strickland   17 February [1842]

Summary

CD approves of HES’s "laws" [of nomenclature]. Regrets that [J. E.?] Gray does not approve of the scheme. CD has sent the paper to William Ogilby and suggests that HES send it to G. R. Waterhouse, of whom he has a high opinion.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Edwin Strickland
Date:  17 Feb [1842]
Classmark:  Museum of Zoology Archives, University of Cambridge (Strickland Papers)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-619

To H. E. Strickland   [19 February 1842]

Summary

CD saw Andrew Smith, who is interested in the subject [of zoological nomenclature], but CD thinks he differs from HES on some points. Sends Smith’s address.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Edwin Strickland
Date:  [19 Feb 1842]
Classmark:  Museum of Zoology Archives, University of Cambridge (Strickland Papers)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-620

To Susan Darwin   [22 February 1842]

thumbnail

Summary

Comments on birth [of Catherine Elizabeth Sophia Wedgwood].

Plans to visit Shrewsbury.

Describes behaviour of William Darwin.

Discusses speculation losses of acquaintances, including T. Carlyle’s. Mentions his own loss on Journal of researches.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Date:  [22 Feb 1842]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-621

To W. D. Fox   23 March [1842]

Summary

Letter of condolence on the death of WDF’s wife [Harriet Fletcher Fox].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  23 Mar [1842]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 57)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-624

To W. D. Fox   [31 March 1842]

Summary

Second letter of condolence, following burial of Mrs Fox.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  [31 Mar 1842]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 56)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-625

To A. Y. Spearman   29 April 1842

Summary

The fourth number of part four is now published; the Smith, Elder & Co. account is presented.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Young Spearman
Date:  29 Apr 1842
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4723 paper 15949)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-625A

To Mary-Anne Herbert   [5 May 1842]

Summary

Acknowledges Mrs H’s disappointing answer to his quest for a house in the country. Five miles from a railway station is "the length of my tether".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Mary Anne Herbert
Date:  [5 May 1842]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-628

To Smith, Elder & Co.   [17 May 1842]

Summary

Gives instructions for sending out copies of Coral reefs to various journals. Discusses the complimentary copies which have already been sent out.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Smith, Elder & Co
Date:  [17 May 1842]
Classmark:  Christie’s (dealers) (7 December 1988); Gerard A. J. Stodolski (dealer) (April 2014)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-629A

To H. E. Strickland   31 May [1842]

Summary

Comments on HES’s Report ["Report of a committee … (on) nomenclature of zoology", Rep. BAAS 12 (1842): 105–21]. Suggests limit be put to changing names that are only partially erroneous to prevent those who detect the error from coining new names and attaching their own. HES’s rule for "authority for a species" is difficult, though on the whole best. Suggests stating it boldly to prevent appropriation of species names by "tacker[s] of two old names together".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Edwin Strickland
Date:  31 May [1842]
Classmark:  Museum of Zoology Archives, University of Cambridge (Strickland Papers)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-630
Page: 1 2 3  Next
letter