skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Buckland William" in search-correspondent [X]
6 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From William Buckland   15 July [1848]


Will forward recommendation of Edward Cresy to Edwin Chadwick, but thinks there will be no further need of engineers.

Author:  William Buckland
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 July [1848]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1190

To William Buckland   [15 June 1837]


Describes the two species of lizard [Amblyrhynchus] found in the Galapagos Archipelago.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Buckland
Date:  [15 June 1837]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-359

From William Buckland to the Geological Society of London   9 March 1838


Recommends CD’s paper on "Formation of mould" [Collected papers 1: 49–53; read 1 Nov 1837] be printed in Transactions. Praises it as establishing a new "geological power".

Author:  William Buckland
Addressee:  Geological Society of London
Date:  9 Mar 1838
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/COM/P/4/2/47)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-404

From William Buckland   7 June 1839


Acknowledges receipt of Journal of researches.

Author:  William Buckland
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 June 1839
Classmark:  DAR 204: 176
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-518

To William Buckland   [November 1840 – 17 February 1841]


He encloses an unidentified paper received from R. I. Murchison the previous day.

Is unable to provide information about Dr Du Gard.

Appreciates the maps of Glen Roy sent by WB. Would welcome the opinions of WB and Louis Agassiz concerning the parallel roads but cannot give up the idea of their marine origin.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Buckland
Date:  [Nov 1840 – 17 Feb 1841]
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History, Buckland papers, Glaciation /4 (iv)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-641A

To Thomas Spring Rice   [before 7 July 1838]


Express their concern that the offer for sale to the British Museum, by G. A. Mantell and Thomas Hawkins, of two valuable collections, has been declined.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin; William Buckland; Adam Sedgwick; John Phillips; William Whewell; Roderick Impey Murchison, 1st baronet; Charles Lyell, 1st baronet; Charles Stokes; William John Hamilton; Edward Stanley; Richard Owen; William Clift; Charles Babbage; John Bostock; Peter Mark Roget; John Taylor; Spencer Joshua Alwyne Compton, 2d Marquess of Northampton; William John Broderip
Addressee:  Thomas Spring Rice
Date:  [before 7 July 1838]
Classmark:  House of Commons papers; accounts and papers, 1837/38, XXXVI, 307
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-421F