skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains ""

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
1877 in date disabled_by_default
1877 in date disabled_by_default
1877 in date disabled_by_default
1877 in date disabled_by_default
620 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From Alphonse de Candolle   January 1877

Summary

Introduces his son Casimir, who is visiting England.

Author:  Alphonse de Candolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10759

To Williams & Norgate   [7 July? 1877]

Summary

Asks for Tom. 23 of the Bulletin de la Soc. Bot. de France to be purchased for him.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Williams & Norgate
Date:  [7, 17 or 27] July 1877
Classmark:  Bonhams (dealers) (27 November 2018, lot 85)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10759F

From Alpheus Hyatt   January 1877

Summary

Reports on his work. Relationships of shells found at Steinheim; attempts to elucidate the genesis of different forms.

Author:  Alpheus Hyatt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 166: 357, 359
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10760

From Thomas Belt   [before 18] January 1877

Summary

TB is seeking a Government grant through the Royal Society so that he can give up his business and pursue his work on the glacial period; wants CD to support him with a note to Hooker.

Author:  Thomas Belt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 18] Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 202: 14
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10761

From Francis Darwin   [14 June? 1877]

Summary

Forwards letters.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [14 June? 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10762F

From E. A. Darwin   [1 January 1877]

Summary

Would like Price’s address.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 Jan 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B96
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10763

From Arthur Mellersh   1 January 1877

Summary

Has "the missing link" been found in New Guinea, as he read in the newspaper?

Offers CD the nest of a foreign bird pressed on him by a neighbour.

Author:  Arthur Mellersh
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 171: 148
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10764

To Octavian Blewitt   1 January 1877

Summary

A letter in support of [Ann Jane] Cupples’ request to the Royal Literary Fund for assistance. Her talent, industry, and need.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Octavian Blewitt
Date:  1 Jan 1877
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan 96 RLF 1/2015/8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10764F

From Charles and Francis Darwin to G. J. Romanes   2 January [1877]

Summary

Agrees to propose GJR for membership in Royal Society.

Remarks on GJR’s paper on Medusae [Philos. Trans. R. Soc. Lond. 167 (1877): 659–752].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin; Francis Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  2 Jan [1877]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.503)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10765

To Alfred Newton   2 January 1877

Summary

Thanks AN for telling him of the complex cross among wagtails. CD is surprised that so much close interbreeding does not check their propagation.

CD does not suppose he will ever have strength to work up his data on hybridism, so he will not write to Mr Monk.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Newton
Date:  2 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Cambridge University Library (MS Add. 9839/1D/63)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10766

From T. A. B. Spratt   2 January 1877

Summary

TABS is pleased that CD found something of interest in his researches in Crete [Travels and researches in Crete (1869)].

Author:  Thomas Abel Brimage Spratt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 240
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10767

To Asa Gray   3 January 1877

Summary

Asks AG not to send his rare specimens [of Leucosmia].

Is glad of the notice about black pigs.

Has great faith in Jeffries Wyman;

thinks A. R. Wallace founds his speculation on a feeble basis.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  3 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (118)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10768

To Gardeners’ Chronicle   3 January [1877]

Summary

Suggests that the scarcity of holly berries is owing to the scarcity of bees during the spring, rather than to frost. He does not know what caused the scarcity of bees.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gardeners’ Chronicle
Date:  3 Jan [1877]
Classmark:  Gardeners’ Chronicle, 6 January 1877, p. 19
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10769

To G. J. Romanes   4 January 1877

Summary

Discusses certificate proposing GJR as Fellow of Royal Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  4 Jan 1877
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.504)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10770

From Francis Darwin to the Auckland Star   4 January 1877

Summary

His father is grateful for the account of the alleged discovery of men with tails.

His father does not believe in their existence of the tailed men, although the tails may be an inherited monstrosity.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Auckland Star
Date:  4 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Auckland Star, 1 March 1877, p. 2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10770F

From R. F. Cooke   5 January 1877

Summary

Orchids [2d ed.] will soon be published.

1000 more copies of Descent [2d ed.] will soon have to be printed, so CD could send any alterations to be made in the plates.

Author:  Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 171: 484
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10771

From Julius Sachs   6 January 1877

Summary

Sends photographs of himself.

Thanks CD for book [Cross and self-fertilisation]

and Francis Darwin for publications.

Author:  Julius Sachs
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10772

From George Hodgskin   6 January 1877

Summary

Sends nest of a Uruguayan bird.

Author:  George Hodgskin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 166: 225
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10773

To Francis Galton   [6–12 January 1877]

Summary

Has received French essay on effects of conscription on [decreasing] height of men, due to unfit left at home to propagate race. Would FG care to see it?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Galton
Date:  [6–12 Jan 1877]
Classmark:  UCL Library Services, Special Collections (GALTON/1/1/9/5/7/23)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10774

From Otto Zacharias   7 January 1877

Summary

Discusses publication of CD’s essays in three German popular periodicals.

Haeckel is ill.

German translation of George Darwin, "Marriage between first cousins" [1875] has sold 250 copies.

Author:  Otto Zacharias
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 184: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10775
Document type
letter (620)
Date
1877disabled_by_default
01 (77)
02 (53)
03 (53)
04 (32)
05 (39)
06 (60)
07 (66)
08 (42)
09 (42)
10 (64)
11 (50)
12 (42)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter