skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [21 November 1845]1

7 Park St


My dear Hooker

Thanks for your two notes & kind invitations to Kew: I am sure you will believe me, when I say what true pleasure it wd have given me & at present I am unusually well, but I have such an accumulation of work, (partly common business & partly scientific shell-work for Geology every morning) that I doubt whether I shall get it done much under a week.— On my return home, I was (& am) going to ask you, whether you will not spare a Sunday & pay us a visit I wd send my Phaeton to meet you at the Sydenham Station in time for our dinner on Saturday & send you back on Monday or Tuesday.— I intend asking Forbes & Falconer if they will spare the time, & I do heartily hope you will be able to come, we cd have some fine Nat. Hist talk.

Pray never answer my Nat. Hist. questions & discussions, except when at leisure & so inclined, otherwise my conscience must prevent my writing.— Thanks for your most generous offer about Webb;2 I wished for a copy to save myself the labour of writing out notes: I have sent to Paris to know price, & if dear, I will so far accept your offer, as to make faint pencil marks & then in a year or two beg the loan of it again just to skim through my marked passages.— I am particularly obliged for your information about Henslow, & I will beat up his quarters, if I can, today.— I feel sure I shd. not be able to tell you anything about my Galapagos plants, as my numbers are gone, otherwise, of course, I wd make a point of coming to Kew on purpose.— I think of returning either on Tuesday or Thursday home.—

Very many thanks for your information & again, thanks for your kind invitation Yours ever in Haste | C. Darwin


Dated from CD’s trip to London 19–24 November, see letter from J. D. Hooker, [19 November 1845], n. 1.
Webb and Berthelot 1836–50.


Is busy with shell work and cannot make it to Kew. Invites JDH to Down. Intends asking Edward Forbes and Hugh Falconer.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
London, Park St, 7
Source of text
DAR 114: 47
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 929,” accessed on 4 August 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 3