skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Marian Evans   31 March 1873

The Priory, | 21 North Bank, | Regents Park.

Mar. 31. 73

My dear Mr. Darwin

We shall be very happy to see Mr. & Mrs. Litchfield on any Sunday when it is convenient to them to come to us.1

Our hours of reception are from 12 past two till six, & the earlier our friends can come to us, the more fully we are able to enjoy conversation with them.

Please do not disappoint us in the hope that you will come to us again, & bring Mrs. Darwin with you, the next time you are in town.2

Yours most sincerely | M E Lewes3


See letter to Marian Evans, 30 March [1873]. CD had requested permission for Henrietta Emma and Richard Buckley Litchfield to call on Evans and her partner, George Henry Lewes. Evans published under the pseudonym George Eliot.
‘M E Lewes’ was Evans’s usual signature from about 1853 (ODNB).


ODNB: Oxford dictionary of national biography: from the earliest times to the year 2000. (Revised edition.) Edited by H. C. G. Matthew and Brian Harrison. 60 vols. and index. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2004.


The Leweses will be happy to see the Litchfields, and hope CD will come again, with Emma.

Letter details

Letter no.
Marian (Mary Anne) Evans; (Evans, M. A.)
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, North Bank, 21
Source of text
Yale University: Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library (George Eliot and George Henry Lewes Collection (GEN MSS 963) Box 2)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8832,” accessed on 16 October 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21