skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To T. L. Brunton   26 March 1873

16 Montague St.

March 26. 73

Dear Sir

I am greatly obliged to you for your kindness in lending me the Indian gazette, which I return by the Post.1 It was a most fortunate coincidence for me that you called at Dr. Sanderson’s.—2 The paper, though written in too jerky a style for my taste, has interested me greatly & has confirmed in a quite unexpected manner what I imagined was the case—3

With sincere thanks— Pray believe me— | yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin


Brunton had lent CD an article by William James Moore on tumbling behaviour in some species of pigeon (W. J. Moore 1873; see first letter to Nature, [before 3 April 1873] and n. 7).
See first letter to Nature, [before 3 April 1873]. Moore had conducted experiments in which tumbling behaviour was induced in non-tumbling species of pigeon by administering drugs or by inserting a needle into the brain; he concluded that a behaviour caused originally by injury or disease had become heritable (W. J. Moore 1873, pp. 35–6).


Moore, W. J. 1873. Columbidæ. Indian Medical Gazette 8: 7–9, 35–7.


Thanks for Indian [Medical] Gazette. Comments on article.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Thomas Lauder Brunton, 1st baronet
Sent from
London, Montague St, 16
Source of text
DAR 143: 156
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8825,” accessed on 26 July 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21