skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Charles Lyell   [9 November 1873 or 26 April or 6 December 1874]1

2. Bryanston St | Portman Sqre

Sunday Evening

My dear Lyell

Would it suit you for me to call on you on Wednesday morning about 9 12 to 10 oclock.— But if any other hour would be more convenient, or any other day, please let me know. Perhaps it will save you trouble by my settling to come at the above time if I do not hear to the contrary2

My dear Lyell | Yours most truly | Ch. Darwin

P.S | I have just recollected that my Doctor3 calls here on Tuesday morning, so that I have altered the day to Wednesday


The dates are established by the address and by the fact that Lyell died in February 1875 (ODNB). CD first stayed with his daughter Henrietta Emma Darwin at 2 Bryanston Street, London, from 8 to 18 November 1873, and then from 21 to 29 April 1874 and 3 to 12 December 1874 (see ‘Journal’ (Appendix II) and Correspondence vol. 22, Appendix II). The letter could have been written on 9 November 1873 or 26 April or 6 December 1874, all Sundays followed by a Wednesday when CD was still in London.
Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242) records that Lyell met with CD when he was in London on Monday 10 November 1873 and Friday 4 December 1874.
CD was under the treatment of Andrew Clark (see letter to Charles Lyell, 24 September 1873 and n. 8).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

ODNB: Oxford dictionary of national biography: from the earliest times to the year 2000. (Revised edition.) Edited by H. C. G. Matthew and Brian Harrison. 60 vols. and index. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2004.


Arranges a visit to CL.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Sent from
London, Bryanston St, 2
Source of text
Wellcome Collection (MS.7781/1–32 item 30)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8715,” accessed on 31 July 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21