skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [18 December 1871]1

6. Q. Anne St. W.


My dear Hooker

Sir H. H. has been here.2 He keeps strongly to opinion, that the best plan will be for Kew to be under the Treasury. He will see Lowe in a day or two & will strongly urge him to this conclusion.—3 From what he says I believe that he has influence with Lowe. I am glad to hear & surprised at Lyell going to Phil. Club: I wish to God I had his strength & could go, but it would half kill me, much as I shd. enjoy it—4

How glad I shall be to hear that all your troubles are over

Yours affect | C. Darwin

Do not forget Melastomas.—5


The date is established by the relationship between this letter, the letter to J. D. Hooker, 28 November [1871], and the letter from J. D. Hooker, [17 December 1871]. Henry Holland lunched with CD on Monday 18 December 1871.
See letter from J. D. Hooker, [17 December 1871] and n. 3. CD refers to Robert Lowe.
See letter from J. D. Hooker, [17 December 1871] and n. 4. CD refers to Charles Lyell.
CD had asked Hooker for seeds or seedlings of any plant in the family Melastomaceae (see letter to J. D. Hooker, 28 November [1871] and n. 2).


H. Holland keeps strongly to the opinion that Kew be under the Treasury, and will recommend this to Lowe.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Source of text
DAR 94: 214–15
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8109,” accessed on 28 November 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19