skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Francis Darwin   [6 November 1871]1

Leith Hill Place | Wotton, Dorking


My dear F.

Who is Fiske & what is his address.? Is he Professor? The articles seem very good & so fair & in some aspects so complimentary that I think I ought to write a line.2 I imagine he is young.— We stay here till Friday morning so write here if you can. —

Yours affecty | C. Darwin


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to John Fiske, 9 November 1871, and by CD’s visit to Leith Hill Place from 3 to 10 November 1871 (‘Journal’ (Appendix II)). In 1871, 6 November was a Monday.
Francis had met John Fiske during his visit to the United States and had been given reports of Fiske’s lectures on evolution (see letter from John Fiske, 23 October 1871 and n. 1). Fiske lectured at Harvard and served briefly as acting professor of history in 1870 (J. S. Clark 1917, 1: 373–7).


Clark, John Spencer. 1917. The life and letters of John Fiske. 2 vols. Boston and New York: Houghton Mifflin Company.


Asks who Fiske is. The articles [Harvard lectures?] are "so fair and in some respects so complimentary" that CD thinks he should write to him. [See 8058.]

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Francis Darwin
Sent from
Leith Hill Place
Source of text
DAR 271.3: 5
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8054,” accessed on 6 July 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19