skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Murray   23 September [1871]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

Sept. 23d

My dear Sir

I have forwarded Kingsley’s letter to Chauncey Wright,—no doubt about his pamphlet.2 I have fd. address (viz Macmillan & Co) for the J. of Anat. & Phys. & have myself forwarded copy.—3 I shd. like a copy sent to the Medical & Chirurgical Review, if not already sent.—4

I have been so unwell for 6 weeks, that I could do absolutely nothing, & this has delayed the new Edit. of origin, more especially as I have found much to correct.5

It will be impossible for me to get more than a few chapters printed off before your sale; & I could not do this unless Clowes6 could set up & print off quickly, when I am ready with the first half of book, which has been gone carefully over, but must be gone over again— A new chapter (Ch. 7.) cost me much labour & is not yet finished.7 Perhaps sometime you will let me hear what you think on this head.—

Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

I am very sorry to hear about Murchison,—as kind a hearted a man, as ever lived.—8


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to John Murray, 22 September [1871].
CD refers to Charles Kingsley and to Wright 1871b. See letter from Chauncey Wright, 11 October 1871.
CD refers to the Journal of Anatomy and Physiology (see letter from John Murray, 22 September [1871] and n. 2).
The British and Foreign Medico-Chirurgical Review recorded Darwinism (Wright 1871b) in the list of pamphlets received for review in their issue of January to April 1872 (p. 283).
William Clowes & Sons.
Chapter 7 of Origin 6th ed. was primarily devoted to CD’s replies to criticisms of the theory of natural selection.
CD refers to Roderick Impey Murchison; see letter from John Murray, 22 September [1871] and n. 4.


Origin 6th ed.: The origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. 6th edition, with additions and corrections. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.


Has been so unwell that he could do absolutely nothing on Origin [6th ed.]. A new chapter seven has cost much labour.

Sorry to hear R. I. Murchison is ill.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Murray
Sent from
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 ff. 234–5)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7964,” accessed on 16 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19