skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [2 December 1844]

Down Bromley | Kent


My dear Hooker

We shall be delighted to see you here on Saturday & I trust your engagement will allow you to stay more than Sunday.— If you come by Coach it is by the “Down” Coach which starts at 314 from the Bolt-in-tun, but I am sorry to say it is a very slow one, & you will not be at this house till past half past 6 oclock.— I have unfortunately made an arrangement to use my phaeton on that day, but I have just written to try to alter it, & if I so succeed, I will send you a line to inform you & will, on Saturday, send the phaeton to the inn close to the station at Sydenham on the Croydon Railway: Trains leave at 1o’20’, 2o,20’ 3o,20’, both from London Bridge & from the Bricklayers arms; & if you would start by the 2o ’ 20’, you would arrive here at 4o ’ 30’, just time to get ready for our usual dinner hour. Shd you miss that train my phaeton shall stay one hour for the succeeding Train. The Bricklayers arms is 12 hours drive in a Cab from Charing Cross.— It is a pretty drive to here from Sydenham.

Ever yours | C. Darwin

If you do not hear, you will understand that I cannot liberate the phaeton.—


Instructions for JDH’s trip to Down.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 114: 21
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 796,” accessed on 20 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 3