skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. W. Reade   16 January 1871

11 Saint Mary Abbot’s Terrace, | Kensington. W.

Jan. 16. 71

My dear Sir

Very many thanks for your kind note. It would certainly give me much pleasure to have half an hour’s chat with you: but as I am settled here probably for a long time to come pray postpone it till you are in full health & leisure.1 I feel it a great honour to have my views put forward in a work of yours.2 I sent you another little note on human selection.3 It crossed your letter to me. But of course it is too late to use anything now: and you must be very glad that you are going to get a little rest.4

I remain | Yours very truly | Winwood Reade


CD’s letter to Reade has not been found. Reade visited Down with Joseph Dalton Hooker, Albert Günther, and Robert Swinhoe from 28 to 30 January 1871 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).
CD cited Reade in Descent and Expression.
The most recent extant letter from Reade to CD is that of 10 January 1871.
CD used some of the information that Reade sent him in the second edition of Descent; see letter from W. W. Reade, 10 January 1871 and n. 1. He finished correcting the page-proofs of Descent on 15 January 1871 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


Meeting with CD postponed.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Winwood Reade
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 176: 43
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7443,” accessed on 28 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19