skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To T. H. Farrer   [29 June 1870]1

6. Queen Anne St


My dear Farrer

I have just received from Fritz Müller the enclosed seeds “of a third species of Passiflora, the flowers of which are visited fertilised by a large Humble-bee.”2

Yours most sincerely | Ch. Darwin

We return home early on Friday morning: if you were in this direction on Thursday & would feel the least inclination to come to luncheon at 1 o clock, I am sure I need not say that we shd. all be very glad indeed to see you.—


The date is established by the reference to Fritz Müller’s sending seeds of Passiflora (see letter to T. H. Farrer, 13 May [1870]), and by the dates of CD’s visit to London; the Darwins were in London from 24 June to 1 July 1870 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)). The only Wednesday during this period was 29 June.
No letter from Fritz Müller accompanying the seeds has been found. CD, Müller, and Farrer had been discussing adaptations for pollination in different species of Passiflora and Tacsonia; see letter from T. H. Farrer, 29 June 1870 and n. 2.


Encloses seeds from Fritz Müller, of a species of Passiflora, fertilised by a humble-bee.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Source of text
Linnean Society of London (LS Ms 299/11)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7250,” accessed on 26 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18