skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   8 March [1870]1

6. Queen Anne St | W.

March 8th

My dear Hooker

Thanks for your very nice letter.2 You must not think for a moment of coming here on purpose, though it will be a great disappointment not seeing you.— You will own it was rather stupid of you not just to look in here, & see if we were arrived.— I shd. very much enjoy, as I always have, coming to Kew, but I fear the exertion: it almost always knocks me up.— Erasmus desires me to say that dinner is at 7 & luncheon at 1 every day—shd you be able to come.3 But mind I won’t have your blood on my head & I do not ask you to come.

I have no time to write & cannot analyse my feelings, but I shd. like to see you Sir J. H., & I do not care so much what sort of Kd.—4 I must also differ from you, (though this will make you angry), & I do not think that you owe your position in any degree as a man of science to your Father.—5

I have forgotten the main object of my note which is to say that we return home early on Saturday morning.

If you write to Barkly6 urge on him to ascertain

(1) whether Rd Isd7 is a volcano, & what the fossil remains are.—whether surface or embedded.—

(2) Depth of Channel

(3) Currents—, whether drift wood large seeds—wrecks &c on any sloping part of coast.

We must meet some other time.—

Ever yours affect | C. Darwin

Did you have time to read Delpino on Marantaceæ?—8


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. D. Hooker, [7 March 1870].
CD was staying with his brother, Erasmus Alvey Darwin.
Hooker had declined a knighthood (see Correspondence vol. 17, letter from J. D. Hooker, 14 November 1869).
See Correspondence vol. 17, letter from J. D. Hooker, 21 November 1869. Hooker’s father was William Jackson Hooker.
Round Island, Mauritius.
CD refers to Federico Delpino and Delpino 1870b. See also letter from Federico Delpino, 28 February 1870.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Would like to see JDH become Sir J. H. Does not think JDH owes his position in science to his father.

Sends questions on Round Island – if JDH should write [to Henry Barkly?].

Has he read Federico Delpino on Marantaceae [Nuovo G. Bot. Ital. 1 (1869): 293–206]?

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Source of text
DAR 94: 167–8
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7128,” accessed on 27 October 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18