skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   2 October [1869]1

Down, Beckenham | Kent

Oct 2d

My dear Hooker.—

I am sorry to bother you with the enclosed long letter; but you will see that De Candolle asks me to communicate with you.— If you wish I will send you half all the many packets of seeds.—2

The experiment seems to me quite an excellent one; & I shd enjoy trying it, & will do my best, but I have so many other things in hand, & so little strength & time to watch & record daily the state of some score of lots of plants.— Yet, I will do my best.— If anyone in your establishment, wd do the work effectually I think it wd be Wisest to hand the whole lots over to you.—

Yours affect | C. Darwin

Please return D.C.s Letter.—


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to Alphonse de Candolle, 11 October 1869.
CD evidently enclosed the letter from Alphonse de Candolle, 28 September 1869. A copy of Candolle’s letter along with notes on the results of experiments made at Kew is in the archive at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Directors’ Correspondence, vol. 135, doc. 367a–e).


Sends letter from Candolle [6915] proposing an experiment with seeds that seems excellent. CD has little time and strength but will do his best. If the staff at Kew could do it, it would be wisest to hand the whole lot over to JDH.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 94: 155
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6923,” accessed on 29 November 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17