skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From T. S. Cobbold   1 September [1869]1

Westward Ho! Hotel | North Devon

Septr. 1st

Dear Sir,

I have this morning received your note (which has tardily followed me viâ Exeter).2

I have learnt that the box of specimens was duly delivered at 84 Wimpole Street; & from the “list” I quite think I may congratulate myself upon the possession.

I hope to utilise a mass of materials (by me) this winter, in which case your kind addition will be a useful adjunct.

At present, I am here studing rock-succession & collecting fossils (in view of my Spring series of Swiney Lectures).3

I had hoped to have read a paper on the “facts of Succession” at our Exeter meeting; which as you will have heard was on the whole successful—despite certain stupid intrusions.4

I am, Dear Sir | Yours very truly | T. Spencer Cobbold

Charles Darwin Esq. F.R.S—

Footnotes

The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to T. S. Cobbold, 9 August [1869].
See letter to T. S. Cobbold, 9 August [1869]. CD had offered to send Cobbold some parasitic worms collected on the Beagle voyage.
Cobbold was appointed Swiney Lecturer on geology at the British Museum in 1868 (ODNB).
The annual meeting of the British Association for the Advancement of Science was held at Exeter from 18 to 25 August 1869. CD received an account of the meeting in the letter from J. D. Hooker, 7 September 1869.

Bibliography

ODNB: Oxford dictionary of national biography: from the earliest times to the year 2000. (Revised edition.) Edited by H. C. G. Matthew and Brian Harrison. 60 vols. and index. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2004.

Summary

Thanks CD for parasitic worms [see 6858] specimens. Supports "fact of succession".

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-6876
From
Thomas Spencer Cobbold
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Westward Ho!
Source of text
DAR 161: 190
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6876,” accessed on 20 January 2022, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-6876.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17

letter