skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. S. Dallas   27 November 1868


27 Nov. 1868.

My dear Sir

I am sure you will be glad to hear that I have been elected, after a struggle of some sharpness from what I learn, to the Assistant Secretaryship of the Geological Society.— I must thank you for your share in this result, which, I believe, is not a small one, as your Testimonial was a particularly strong one, & bearing your name would naturally have great weight, & I have no doubt your personal influence with members of the Council has also been felt in my favour—1

I am happy to have to tell you that after all the delay that has been caused by this business, I have succeeded in finishing the Translation of Fritz Müller,—I shall read it over to polish the English a little, insert tracings of the woodcuts & send it up to Mr. Murray without loss of time—2 It has been a heavy job, for although easy to read a great many passages require mature consideration in translating & the MS. parts, which all came at the end, gave me a good deal of trouble, the small German handwriting being almost too much for my eyesight by gaslight.—3 As the election has occupied every one’s attention throughout the present month, I do not think the delay in publishing will be disadvantageous to the book.—4 I suppose I had better write a short preface indicating the general characteristics of the work & the principal additions.—

Believe me | My dear Sir | Your’s very truly | W. S. Dallas

C. Darwin Esq. F.R.S. | &c &c &c


For CD’s recommendation, see the letter to W. S. Dallas, 11 November [1868].
Dallas refers to his translation of Müller’s book, Für Darwin (F. Müller 1864a; W. S. Dallas trans. 1869), and to the publisher John Murray.
For Müller’s manuscript additions for W. S. Dallas trans. 1869, see the enclosure to the letter from Fritz Müller, 22 April 1868.
Dallas refers to the recent general election, held in November 1868.


WSD has been elected Assistant Secretary of the Geological Society after a sharp struggle. CD’s support was greatly in his favour.

Has finished Für Darwin. It has been a difficult job.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Sweetland Dallas
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 162: 27
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6481,” accessed on 22 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16