skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Tyndall   20 October 1868

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Oct. 20 1868

My dear Tyndall

The Asa Grays & Hookers are coming here on Saturday next, & it would give us all very great pleasure if you cd spare the time to come to us on that day & stay the Sunday with us.1

We dine at 7.30—& your best route will be by S.E. Railway from Charing Cross to Orpington Station, which is 4 miles from this house. Very many thanks for your note about Hinrichs whose papers I sent to you.2

I am sure you will excuse me in taking the privileges of an invalid & often leaving my guests.

My dear Tyndall | yours very sincerely. | Charles Darwin

P.S. You wd find 4.18. or 5.8. from Charing Cross convenient trains & if you will let me know which I will send a fly from here—

If you come to Bromley (6 miles off) flys are plentiful


Emma Darwin reported in her diary (DAR 242) that the Hookers, the Grays and Tyndall, among others, arrived at Down on 24 October 1868. Asa and Jane Loring Gray stayed at Down for the week; Joseph Dalton Hooker, and possibly his children Harriet Anne and William Henslow Hooker, also stayed for at least some of the time (see letter from J. D. Hooker, [28 September 1868]).
CD refers to Gustavus Detlef Hinrichs. See letter from John Tyndall, 9 October 1868 and n. 3.


Invites JT to come to Down with the Asa Grays and Hookers.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Tyndall
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 261.8: 6 (EH: 88205944)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6424,” accessed on 27 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16