skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Eduard Koch   27 August 18681

I certainly should much like to see any reviews of my book, especially of the 2nd volume, & […] I should be grateful if you would send me any of the best, either favorable or unfavorable.2

My health has lately been indifferent & I have made but small progress in my next book, which will not be of large size. I do not suppose it will be finished for a year. When ready I will communicate with you, but cannot at present pledge myself to give you the right of translation3[…]

Ch. Darwin


The address (Down) and the date are given in the sale catalogue.
CD refers to the German translation of Variation (Carus trans. 1868). Koch was the manager of E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung, the publisher of the translation. See letter from Eduard Koch, 21 July 1868.
The next book published by CD was Descent, a two-volume work, in 1871. The German translation was made by Julius Victor Carus and published by Schweizerbart (Carus trans. 1871).


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Would like to see reviews of book [Variation].

Health has lately been indifferent.

Cannot at present pledge to give [EK?] translation rights to next book.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Eduard Koch
Sent from
Source of text
Interlibrium (Cat. 276)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6332,” accessed on 25 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16