skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. J. Moulinié   16 May [1867]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

May 16th.

Dear Sir—

I have the pleasure to inform you that I despatched this morning four clean sheets.2 I am very glad to say that my book does not turn out so large as was expected. The Printers estimate that the 1st. Vol will contain 412 pages & the 2nd. Vol 460 pages but large portions are in small type.3 In accordance with a letter from M. Reinwald I have given the order for the casting of the stereotypes4

Pray believe me, dear Sir | with much respect | Yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. J. Moulinié, 3 May 1867.
Moulinié was to translate Variation into French (see letter from J. J. Moulinié, 3 May 1867).
CD refers to Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald, possibly to Reinwald’s letter of [May 1867], and to stereotypes for the illustrations for Variation (see also letter to V. O. Kovalevsky, 16 May [1867] and n. 3).


Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Sheets dispatched. Book [French edition of Variation] not so large as expected.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Jean Jacques Moulinié
Sent from
Source of text
Bibliothèque de Genève (Ms. suppl. 66, f. 8)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6176,” accessed on 22 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15