skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To ?   7 April [1871]1

Down. | Beckenham | Kent. S.E.

April 7

My dear Sir

I write one line to thank you for your assistance & to beg you, when next you meet Dr. Laycock, to return him my very sincere thanks for all the references.—2 I will endeavour to get the works referred to.— I possess owing to Dr Laycock’s great kindness Brain & mind;3 but absence from home has prevented my as yet consulting the passages.—4

Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the form of the address and the month. CD used this form of address, with ‘Bromley’ crossed out and ‘Beckenham’ added by hand, from April 1869 to May 1871. During this period, he was away from home shortly before 7 April only in 1871 (see CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).
No letter containing references from Thomas Laycock has been found.
CD refers to Laycock 1860, which he cited in Expression, pp. 339 n. 33 and 340 n. 36. He also cited Laycock 1839 on p. 339 n. 33 and Laycock 1840 on pp. 339 n. 33, 342 n. 41, and 343 n. 45.
CD visited his brother, Erasmus Alvey Darwin, in London from 1 to 5 April 1871 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).


Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.

Laycock, Thomas. 1839. Analytical essay on irregular and aggravated forms of hysteria. Edinburgh Medical and Surgical Journal 50: 302–56 and 52: 43–86.

Laycock, Thomas. 1840. A treatise on the nervous diseases of women: comprising an inquiry into the nature, causes, and treatment of spinal and hysterical disorders. London: Longman, Orme, Brown, Green and Longmans.

Laycock, Thomas. 1860. Mind and brain: or, The correlations of consciousness and organisation: with their applications to philosophy, zoology, physiology, mental pathology, and the practice of medicine. 2 vols. Edinbugh: Sutherland and Knox. London: Simpkin, Marshall and Co.


Asks correspondent to thank Thomas Laycock for his references. CD has been away from home and has not yet consulted his copy of Laycock’s Mind and brain [1860].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
R. M. Smythe (dealer) (November 1998)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6102A,” accessed on 3 August 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19