skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Murray   20 September 1867

6 Queen Anne St | W.

Sept 20th 1867

My dear Sir

I acknowledge receipt & thank you for the very pleasant remittance of £250 for the 4th. Edit. of Origin.—1

I enclose cheque for Presentation Copies;2 be so kind as to return me the enclosed receipted.— I am very glad to see that Orchid Book does sell a little.3 I hope the new Book will be more successful;4 but Heaven only knows.

I think it will be a very good plan that I may see a portion of Index, before, I presume, it is arranged alphabetically & I will compare it with the early sheets.—5

With my 〈best than〉ks | yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


An entry in CD’s Account books–banking account (Down House MS) for 20 September 1867 records a payment of £12 for presentation copies.
According to the account Murray sent, 165 copies of Orchids had been sold and 516 remained (see enclosure to letter from John Murray, 19 September [1867]).
CD refers to Variation; he had almost finished correcting the first proofs of the work and planned to begin working on the second proofs on 1 October 1867 (see letter to J. V. Carus, 16 September 1867).


Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Thanks for "pleasant remittance" of £250 for 4th edition of Origin.

Glad to see that Orchids sells a little.

Hopes Variation will be more successful.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Murray
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 f. 173)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5632,” accessed on 20 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15