skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Leonard Jenyns   5 April [1840]


April 5th

Dear Jenyns

Your note has just been forwarded to me.— I shall return to London by the end of next week, when I will send the M.S. to the Printer, & see whether it can be ready for you.— I will consult with Mr Hawkins about the Fish.— I am much obliged for your punctuality in having everything so soon ready for the number.— I most sincerely hope your own satisfaction in producing good stirling work in Natural History will somewhat repay you for your trouble.—

My health during the last two weeks has been better & I have come down here to consult my Father & see whether change of air, would set me up.—

I am wearied of losing time & would do anything to get strong again.

I shall certainly be in Town by the end of next week, (ie 10th, or 11th, or 12th) & shall be there when you come up in Easter Week.

Believe me | Dear Jenyns | Yours most truly | Chas. Darwin


Health is improved, but would do anything to get strong again. Is consulting his father; will return to London soon to see B. W. Hawkins.

Will send MS [of Fish, no. 2] to the printer, and be there when LJ comes.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Leonard Jenyns/Leonard Blomefield
Sent from
Source of text
Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 563,” accessed on 22 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 2