skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald   [May 1867]1

half page missing〉 of the wood-cuts from Mrs. Murray for the price of £10.—and to let you have six copies of our translation.2

I am highly gratified by this kind proposal which I accept with pleasure for my part, and hope that Prof. Carl Vogt will not only give his advice to our french translator Col. Moulinié, but allow me to put his name on the title piece as being done under his direction.3

half page missing〉 honoured to be in 〈3 or 4 words〉 of your highly deserved reputation and celebrity and beg to believe me

Dear Sir | Your most obedient Servant | C Reinwald

C. Reinwald, libraire editeur

15. Rue Des Saints-Pères. Paris


The date is established by the relationship between this letter, the letter from Carl Vogt, 23 April 1867, and the letter from J. J. Moulinié, 2 June 1867.
John Murray was the publisher of Variation. This letter evidently concerned arrangements for the publication of a French translation of Variation by Reinwald’s firm. See letter from Carl Vogt, 23 April 1867.
Reinwald refers to Carl Vogt and Jean Jacques Moulinié. The words ‘Préface de Carl Vogt’ appear on the title page of Moulinié trans. 1868.


Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Writes about the Carl Vogt and J. J. Moulinié translation [of Variation].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 210.11: 35
Physical description
2pp inc

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5521,” accessed on 19 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15