skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. D. Hooker   31 March 1867


March 31/67.

Dear Darwin

We have no hopes for our pretty little baby whose fits increase in number & duration—1 Happily it suffers little, the nerves of motion exclusively being affected. This suspense is very painful.

Mrs Hooker2 is pretty well

I keep her in bed next door to the child.

Ever dear old Darwin | Yrs affec | J D Hooker

Percival Wright was here today on his way to the Seychelles to spend some months collecting—3


Hooker reported that Reginald Hawthorn Hooker had been suffering from convulsions (see letter from J. D. Hooker, 26 [and 27] March 1867, and letter to J. D. Hooker, 29 [March 1867]).
Frances Harriet Hooker.
Edward Perceval Wright spent six months in the Seychelles Islands in 1867, and brought back a collection of plants and animals (DNB).


DNB: Dictionary of national biography. Edited by Leslie Stephen and Sidney Lee. 63 vols. and 2 supplements (6 vols.). London: Smith, Elder & Co. 1885–1912. Dictionary of national biography 1912–90. Edited by H. W. C. Davis et al. 9 vols. London: Oxford University Press. 1927–96.


Baby’s situation hopeless.

E. Perceval Wright on way to Seychelles for collecting.

Letter details

Letter no.
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 102: 156
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5477,” accessed on 29 November 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15