skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   13 April [1865]


April 13th

My dear Hooker.

Here is a pretty thing, the Strelitzia has arrived safely this morning (specific name not given) but no Books & Bottle from Thwaites.1 I hope they are not lost, but if so of course I will make good the Bot. Zeitung.—2

I shall be glad to hear news before very long of your Father: Bronchitis at near 80 is very serious.—3

Yours affect | C. Darwin

Your note received this morning made me laugh— I hope my judgment about the Origin is as good & unfailing as yours about your own papers!4

It is worth while to pass your little finger, like a Birds beak, parallel to stamens of Strelitzia, as if to enter within the little petal at the base for nectar,, & see how neatly the two other oddly shaped blue petals open & expose pollen.—5


CD refers to a Strelitzia specimen, and to a bottle and some other items that Hooker had undertaken to forward from George Henry Kendrick Thwaites; Hooker had also mentioned that he would send Grisebach 1864 and an issue of Botanische Zeitung (see letters from J. D. Hooker, [7–8 April 1865] and 12 April [1865], and n. 2, below).
CD had asked to borrow an issue of Botanische Zeitung for 1860 containing an article on Pisum (Alefeld 1860). See letter to J. D. Hooker, 6 April [1865].
Hooker mentioned the illness of William Jackson Hooker in his letter to CD of 12 April [1865].
For CD’s interest in the pollination of Strelitzia, see the letter from J. D. Hooker, [7–8 April 1865], n. 4.


Alefeld, Friedrich Christoph Wilhelm. 1860. Ueber Pisum. Botanische Zeitung 18: 204–5.


Strelitzia has arrived

but no books or bottles from G. H. K. Thwaites.

Hopes his own judgment about Origin is as good as Hooker’s about his own papers.

Strelitzia’s neat mechanism for exposing pollen.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 115: 266
Physical description
ALS 4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4813,” accessed on 5 July 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13