skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Fanny Myddelton Biddulph   14 January 1837

My dear Charles,

I am ashamed to think how ungrateful I must have appeared to you—for I believe it is more than a month since I received your beautiful present of Flowers & they have remained quite unnoticed by a line of thanks.— pray forgive me I have indeed been more or less so unwell since I received them that I have not been able to write or do any thing else— accept now my best thanks, I was very much pleased by your kind recollection of me— the Flowers are the prettiest things I ever saw, much too good to wear I think & I mean to do justice to them in a glass case

—I think you have used your friends very shabbily in taking flight so soon again. I had no idea you were going away for the whole winter— I hope when you have any precious time to throw away you will find your way to Chirk Castle1 where I assure you we shall both be delighted to see you—

ever dear Charles yrs. most truly | F Myddelton Biddulph

Chirk Castle Janry. 14th. 1837.


Chirk Castle, near Denbigh, North Wales, was the home of Fanny Myddelton Biddulph, née Owen, an intimate friend of CD and his sisters. See Correspondence vol. 1 for Fanny’s letters to CD.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Apologises for delay in thanking him for the flowers. Has been too unwell to write.

Letter details

Letter no.
Frances (Fanny) Mostyn Owen/Frances (Fanny) Myddelton Biddulph
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Chirk Castle
Source of text
DAR 204: 57
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 340,” accessed on 17 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 2