skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   27 [December 1861]



My dear Hooker

Lindley has sent me a Gongora, so do not trouble yourself.—1 He says that Acropera luteola is in no Book & that except in colour it resembles A. Loddigesii, so I will insert a note.—2

Will you be so kind as to write on scrap of paper & put in enclosed Envelope the name & address of whoever arranges & settles about your Flues & Heating Apparatus for Hot-Houses at Kew.— Mr C. has asked me to find out, as he wants for some experiments about Gas to get a large chamber heated very equally night & day.—3

I will write soon.— I write now merely to save you wasting time over Acropera & Gongora.—

Ever yours | C. Darwin


The letter from John Lindley has not been found, but see the letter to John Lindley, 24 December [1861]. In Orchids, CD added a footnote to the description of Acropera luteola (Orchids, p. 203 n.): Dr. Lindley informs me that he knows of no species so named; nor is the origin of the name known at Kew. This species or variety differs in little or in nothing from A. Loddigesii, excepting in its uniform yellow colour.
CD refers to his friend Edward Cresy (see letter from J. D. Hooker, [29 December 1861]).


Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.


Seeks information on heating hothouses night and day.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 115: 138
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3351,” accessed on 3 July 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 9