skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. S. Henslow   6 October [1836]


Octobr. 6th.—

My dear Henslow

I am sure you will congratulate me on the delight of once again being home. The Beagle arrived at Falmouth on Sunday evening, & I reached Shrewsbury yesterday morning.— I am exceedingly anxious to see you, and as it will be necessary in four or five days to return to London to get my goods & chattels out of the Beagle, it appears to me my best plan to pass through Cambridge. I want your advice on many points, indeed I am in the clouds & neither know what to do, or where to go. My chief puzzle is about the geological specimens, who will have the charity to help me in describing their mineralogical nature?— Will you be kind enough to write to me one line by return of post saying whether you are now at Cambridge.— I am doubtful, till I hear from Capt. F. R. whether I shall not be obliged to start before the answer can arrive, but pray try the chance.— My dear Henslow, I do long to see you; you have been the kindest friend to me, that ever Man possessed.— I can write no more for I am giddy with joy & confusion.— Farewell for the present.— | Yours most truly obliged | Chas. Darwin *S 2

Thursday Morning.—


His joy at being home. Anxious to see JSH for advice on his geological specimens.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Stevens Henslow
Sent from
Shrewsbury OC 6 1836
Source of text
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 31 DAR/1/1/31)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 311,” accessed on 31 July 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 1