skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Murray   3 February [1860]1

Down Bromley Kent

Feb. 3d.

My dear Sir

I have not yet succeeded in getting the requisite information for the most important correction for my Journal:2 I expect it daily; if it does not come in time, it cannot be helped: unless I can get this one, I will not trouble you with any. I will send it when it comes & then you must decide whether you can insert it for me.

Now I am sorry to say I must trouble you on another point, viz to send a copy immediately of the Origin (you must keep account against me for extra copies of this Reprint) to

M. Elisée Reches3 10 rue Bénard Batignolles Paris

M. Talandier says he is in treaty with Bailliere about Translations & Bailliere asks “si les droits d’auteur vous sont reserves ou s’ils appartiennent a M. Murray”.4 In answer I have said that I have full power to give to M. Talandier the right & profit from a Translation, & that you would if necessary take any necessary step to declare to M. Bailliere that this is so.— If you object to this, please send me a line by return of Post; if I do not hear I will understand that you will so declare to M. Bailliere.—

I hope I shall soon cease to cause trouble

Yours sincerely | C. Darwin

Footnotes

The year is given by the reference to a French translation of Origin.
See following letter.
Elisée Réclus was a famous French geographer and anarchist, related to Paul Broca.
CD refers to J. B. Baillière et fils, a firm of publishers and booksellers with offices in Paris and London.

Bibliography

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.

Summary

Has not yet obtained information for the most important correction for Journal of researches.

Has told P. T. A. Talandier that JM will declare that CD has full authority to give him right and profit of translation of Origin. Unless he hears by return, CD assumes JM does not object.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-2681
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
John Murray
Sent from
Down
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff.86–87)
Physical description
4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2681,” accessed on 28 September 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-2681.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 8

letter