skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. B. Tegetmeier   29 September [1857]1

Down Bromley Kent

Sept. 29th

My dear Sir

Thank you for so kindly always remembering me. I have skeleton of Himalaya;2 but if you will leave the Head till thoroughily wasted I shd. be glad of it as duplicate.—3 With respect to Pigeons I shall collect no more, for I think for my object I have done enough. Though I am telling a partial story, for I have just written about some Smiters advertised by a Mr Roe at Salisbury.—4 I have just lost one of the old Barbs the parent of that sent you, so I shall have no more; but I have a grown male, which I can send to you, & will look in course of week or two, whether I have anything else worth sending.

You can make away with the young Cock Scanderoon. Thanks you for your offer of the Cock Rumpless, but I shall not want it. There is only one sort of Fowl, which I shd. be glad to get or buy cheap, viz an old Cock Malay, & if you could help me in this I shd. be very glad.— Pray take care of the Head of the wild Jungle, as at some time I shd. like that Back.—

I have heard of arrival of a set of Burmese Fowl-skins, but they are at Berlin, so I suppose I shall not receive them very soon.—5

With many thanks— | Your’s very sincerely | C. Darwin


The year is established by a record of a payment in CD’s Account book (Down House MS), dated 12 September 1857, for ‘Smiters’ (see n. 4, below) and by the relationship to the letter to W. B. Tegetmeier, 21 November [1857].
See letter to John Thompson?, 26 November [1856].
CD had previously asked Tegetmeier to send him rabbit specimens (letter to W. B. Tegetmeier, 21 September [1856]). CD refers to the Himalayan breed of rabbits (see Variation 1: 108–9).
Smiters are a breed of pigeons remarkable for their manner of flight (Variation 1: 156). See also letter to James Buckman, 4 October [1857].
Sent by Walter Elliot (see Correspondence vol. 7, letter to W. B. Tegetmeier, 17 January [1858]).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Will collect no more pigeons. Is awaiting Burmese fowls’ skins coming via Berlin.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Sent from
Source of text
Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2146,” accessed on 21 October 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 6